Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3759
Fun but nothing to make an impression
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I really enjoyed The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith. I was excited to read This Is What Happy Looks Like and see what characters and story Smith was going to bring us. This is What Happy Looks Like is an adorable contemporary about two teens who meet by chance via wayward email. Of course, small town Ellie doesn't realize that this mysterious stranger she is crushing on by email is the famous movie-star that just happens to be filming a movie in her town.

I really enjoyed the idea behind This Is What Happy Looks Like. The chance email meeting, the movie star/normal girl love interest, the problems and hilarity that is sure to come with that. I think Jennifer E. Smith did a really great job of portraying the characters and how this teen movie star would feel. His quick rise to fame, and it's effect on him, and how no one ever sees the "real" him. While I had to suspend belief on some things, it was a charming story.

I really liked Ellie's character. She is spunky and witty. The email correspondences between her and and Graham were full of fun and hilarious things. Graham is a win for me just for having a pig named Wilbur and a burning desire to find a Whoopie Pie. How is that not a winning guy???

While This Is What Happy Looks Like was a delightful read, I do think it is one that will fall off my radar rather quickly. At over 400 pages it was a little long for a quick beach or summer read, although it did seem to read quickly. There was nothing about it, or the characters, that seemed to really pop enough that I think This Is What Happy Looks Like is going to be making a lasting impression on me.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
April 17, 2013
I really liked how you pointed out what you didnt like as well as what you did.
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Dream Catchers
 
1.0
"t This book was a complete waste of paper. It had some interesting points but, it had no plot. It..."
Curse of the Stolen Cross
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jaxon I read this book on a camping vacation with my family. We took turns reading aloud one..."
Curse of the Stolen Cross
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by raya The "Long Tall Texan" was blown to bits in a sparkling blue lagoon & that's just..."
Curse of the Stolen Cross
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Nicky Thomas I loved this story about 2 brother left on a deserted island as they grow..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Linda Welch Many a year has passed since I was a 14 year old year girl so..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Val What a great children's book. Fairies Ice Cove Mountain is simply a fascinating and exciting...."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Natalie H. Sandy Lo is not to be overlooked, she certainly has earned her spot in the..."
Never Too Late to Make a U-Turn: An Educational Pledge & 15 Questions to Self-Development
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Writers' Digest &.I have seen first hand how many students fall through the public-school cracks and the..."
Never Too Late to Make a U-Turn: An Educational Pledge & 15 Questions to Self-Development
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Rafael Rodriguez This book is a most read book for all. I truly recommend it, and Mr...."
Never Too Late to Make a U-Turn: An Educational Pledge & 15 Questions to Self-Development
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Tita Negron Tita: I am pleased to have your presence, Mr. Cappas. Thank you for..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ohndrea I loved your book! I especially loved the part where Norman found out that he could..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by maddie Your book was very interesting. I love the creativity you put into your work. I loved..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Keegan Holle The book was amazing! It was funny and realistic at the same time. The characters..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Alex I thought that the book was good. Although..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Gabriel As I had first been reading the book my mind was thinking, "What kind of dumb..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Abby This book is a great book for little kids that is humorous. It is very interesting..."
Oh la la! (French Manicure #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Alyssa Feller, POD Princess & Graphic Novel Guru Does Prince Charming really exist?&Who knows? Maybe he..."
An Unofficial History of Disney's Haunted Mansion
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Alyssa Feller, POD Princess & Graphic Novel Guru When hinges creek, in doorless chambers, and strange and..."
A Home for Amanda Romero
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Vanessa Amanda Romero has always dreamed of having a room of her own. But in order to..."
A Rumor of Dragons
 
5.0
A2 Amber, 2007 Teen Demi-Goddess
"A Rumor of Dragons is the first book in an innovative new fantasy series by Michael Heald. Marc..."