Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1252
Flat-Out Love
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Flat-Out Love opens up with Julie heading off to college and arriving at what she thinks is her new apartment. Actually, it’s a burrito restaurant; now she’s broke and homeless. What a great way to begin life in a new city! Of course she gets rescued, by the super adorable Matt! He is a geek extraordinaire and I loved him! (We both have this habit of correcting everything anyone says to us and going off on irrelevant tangents to explain our reasoning.) I can’t say the same for Julie at the beginning. I just didn’t get her. While thinking about her friends back home, she only had negative things to say about them. She basically called them airheads and said she had to dumb herself down for them. Why would you be friends with people who you know don’t “get” you and would make fun of you for being smart? And she thought her ex-boyfriend was an asshole and a homosexual, so why date him?! She also teased Matt a lot for his geeky shirts and his random knowledge, but she came across as mean most of the time. Thankfully, their banter seemed to become more playful and less antagonistic as the book moved on.

However, I had to admire her for accepting Matt’s 13 year old sister, Celeste’s, quirks and for trying to help her. Celeste speaks like an Drama professor, dresses like a second-grader, carries around a cardboard cut-out of their older brother, Finn, and has no friends. Julie tries taking Celeste out to places and have girlie fun with her which was really nice, but some of her approaches were a bit shallow. Her relationship with Celeste was actually the main thing I cared about in the plot. I had a feeling that there was something else off about this family. I formed my own theory, and I was way off. The twist was a shock to me.

This book is chock full of hilarious quotes, but that didn’t make up for my lack of interest in the story. I could probably recite a line from this for everyday for the rest of the year, but in a few weeks I may not be able to tell you anything about the story except for Celeste and the many Facebook conversations. There was a romance, which started out quite unconventionally and I liked that, but something seemed to be missing. I suppose I just didn’t connect with this book as well as others. It’s by no means a bad book. It’s actually very well written, smart, witty, and emotional. It just wasn’t for me.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

Winter's Bullet
 
5.0
"Tygo, the son of a locksmith, lives in Amsterdam during WWII. His parents are both dead, and his sister has..."
A Little In Love
 
4.7
"LES MISERABLES is one of my all-time favorite books. I loved the story of redemption and how one man..."
Waves
 
3.3
"When Hal's family makes the heart-wrenching decision to leave Charley, their comatose daughter, behind in a hospital ward while they..."
Undead
 
4.3
"Take a handful 1980s John Hughes teen flicks throw in some snarky British humor and a load of zombies and..."
Waves
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by JuJuB This book is an incredibly intriguing story about a girl named Charlie who is in a..."
Lucas
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by melissa this bookwasn't so much confusing as it was just plain bad. were set on an island..."
Waves
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by india This book is something else. When I finished i just went straight back to the beginning..."
Lucas
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Melissa Lucas, written by Kevin Brooks is one of my favorite books of this year; it is..."
Waves
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Lauren This book was extremely good. A family returns to their summer house in Cornwall a year..."
Lucas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sophie I was going on holiday to Canada for 3 weeks in a RV, basically, it's a..."
Lucas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by lauren I read it last year in school for a project and i absolutly LOVED it!! I..."
Lucas
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Joena Ich can onlay advise this book everybody!! It´s so graet - it´s the best book..."
Lucas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Battery Lucas was one of the few books I've read that really made me stop and think..."
Lucas
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Dylana This book was unlike anything I have ever read. Kevin Brooks captures his characters..."