Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 4072
Better than the first!
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I was worried that Everbound was going to suffer from Middle of a Trilogy syndrome, and that Nikki would never get close to saving Jack from the Tunnels, but my worries were completely unfounded. Everbound is much better than Everneath! The story kicks off right away, and we get to enter the Everneath almost immediately! There’s next to no waiting around for the action to start, which was great, since I had no idea what to expect from this. Nikki is determined to get Jack back at any cost or die trying. She even attempts to travel the Everneath without Cole to help her! Needless to say, that’s a bust, so Cole agrees to take her himself to help ensure that she doesn’t get herself killed within minutes.

I loved this extended tour of the Everneath! Sure most of Everbound is spent in the labyrinth, but we also get glimpses of one of the Commons, a market, and a human sacrifice. Not a pretty site. There’s also more about how the Everneath is powered and a little on its history, which is all interesting. Probably the more interesting addition (aside from the labyrinth) are the Wanderers. They’re essentially the Everling equivalent of zombies, only scarier. Of course, Nikki and Cole had some run-ins with these creatures. I’m purposely not saying anything about the labyrinth. You’ll just have to read Everbound and discover it for yourself! It’s a pretty strange place.

There’s only a couple of issues that I had with this sequel. At first I was a bit frustrated with Nikki. Her determination to go after Jack was a little over-the-top. Her whole “I’d rather die than live with this guilt” attitude was annoying and selfish. If she’s dead she definitely can’t help him, and she doesn’t really think about what that would to her father. She essentially says he’s survived without her before, so he can surely do it again. Selfish. The second problem was all of the flashbacks. They’re necessary to keep Nikki connected to Jack, but I really didn’t care about how their love came to be.

The labyrinth and the very ending is where Everbound really shines! Cole’s admission at the end…I was not expecting that! I seriously did not see it coming! I had no idea how this would end so that there could be a third book, but that ending certainly does it! Finally Nikki stands up for something that actually makes sense, so I cannot wait to get my hands on the final book!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."