Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1628
Some Quiet Place by Kelsey Sutton
(Updated: April 08, 2013)
A compelling and original story that although I found engaging to begin with left me somewhat disappointed.

For the first four years of her life Elizabeth was a normal girl, but then the accident happened and everything changed. She could no longer feel emotions, and her family knew something was different about her. So now her mother keeps her distance, her father is an abusive alcoholic, and although her brother makes an effort he lives in denial, and acts like everything is fine.

Elizabeth doesn't have an easy life, she is faced with many hardships and challenges. Her one and only friend, Maggie has cancer and is away in hospital, Sophia her ex-best friend is always out to get her, and her family all but ignore her. The story isn't just focused on relationships, though. Elizabeth is having strange dreams, and this along with Fears curiosity about her past lead her to investigate what really happened on the day of the accident. How did she turn into the girl with no emotions?

The romance between Fear and Elizabeth was beautiful and enrapturing. They had a complicated relationship that really tugged at my heart strings. Fear was by far one of my favourite characters, complex and protective he was definitely a swoon worthy male lead.

There is a love triangle, but it's not the typical kind because it's obvious Elizabeth's heart truly lies with Fear. The third member of the triangle is Joshua, a kind-hearted boy from her high school who is just as intrigued by her as Fear. While I appreciate the fact that she wasn't torn between the two guys I kind of wish that Joshua had just been a close friend instead of a love interest. Because as Veronica Rossi's Under the Never Sky and Jana Oliver's Demon Trappers series have shown a guy and a girl can just be friends without any meddling romantic feelings coming in the way. The love triangle was just unnecessary.

So exactly was I disappointed with? The big revelation relating to the accident. It wasn't that it was predictable, far from in fact. I just didn't like the idea of the revelation. And if you haven't read the book that probably doesn't make much sense, but unfortunately I can't go into why without actually spoiling it, so I'll leave it at that.

Although there is potential for a sequel I'm quite happy to treat it as a standalone. And despite not being satisfied with the revelation I'd still recommend this book as it is unique and ironically brimming with emotions.

Rating: 3/5
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

Significance
 
5.0
"If only i could save a hot guy from getting hit by a truck and suddenly be his soul mate,..."
Significance
 
5.0
"I seriously love this book to death. I probably couldn’t tell you how many times I have read and re-read..."
The Fallen Star (Volume 1)
 
4.0
"The Fallen Star is a book that will make you want to carry on reading. Its about a girl called..."
Flat-Out Love
 
3.0
"Flat-Out Love opens up with Julie heading off to college and arriving at what she thinks is her new apartment...."
What I Didn't Say
 
2.7
"I really don't have any reasonable reason to have not enjoyed this book. But something about it just didn't click..."
ReVamped
 
5.0
"Love this book i will give the cover and the book 5 out of 5. Every chapter takes you on..."
ReVamped
 
4.0
"Had enough of vampire books?! Well, let me throw ReVamped at you and say even if you’re sick of vampire..."
ReVamped
 
5.0
" So as we all know the vampire phenomenon has taken the world by storm and there are plenty of..."
Significance
 
5.0
"Love!"
Significance
 
5.0
"Does fate really exist? And if it does, then does magic exist? These are the questions Maggie Masters must answer..."
Remembrance
 
4.0
"(Source: Purchased from Amazon.co.uk for only 77p!) 16-year-old Lizzie has a great boyfriend, and a great best friend, but when..."
Remembrance
 
2.0
"Remembrance has a very interesting background. It was inspired by an artist's music video and burst into this book, which..."
ReVamped
 
3.3
"First, I want to thank the author, Ada Adams, and also Marian R., for an e-copy of the book… ..."
Good For You (Between The Lines #3)
 
5.0
JenJen
"Wow, just wow! Each book in this series is better than the one before! This is Dori and Reid's..."
Solid
 
3.0
"Solid was a mindlessly entertaining read, with a witty and sarcastic narrator who kept things on the lighter side with..."
What I Didn't Say
 
4.3
"This book wasn't the fluffy chick lit you think it would be, but it isn't quite as deep as you..."
Significance
 
5.0
" WOW! This is an AMAZING story. I got so caught up in it, I kept hiding from my responsibilities..."
What I Didn't Say
 
4.5
" Wow, I am on a roll with good contemporaries this month. This one is really an eye opener..."
What I Didn't Say
 
N/A
" You know those books that come along and at first they seem okay and maybe sort of hoakie and..."
ReVamped
 
3.3
"ISBN: 9781470068981 Publisher: Self/Indie Pages: 300 A simple mission turned deadly. Nineteen-year-old vampire Dawn has led a sheltered..."