Review Detail

Paper Valentine Featured
Young Adult Fiction 3085
Paper Valentine
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
As other reviewers have said, readers in search of a murder mystery should not pick up Paper Valentine in hopes of an enthralling chase to unmask a serial killer. Personally, I came into this with that expectation, and it took a bit of adjustment for me to realize that Yovanoff’s story had more to do with people living their lives and going through day-to-day stuff (whilst a serial killer is abroad), than about finding and punishing a murderer. Instead, Paper Valentine is about a girl and a ghost and relationships and imperfect people.

Most of the time I don’t have much trouble picking out what an author’s themes are. I can say, “this book is about moving on after grief” or “this book is about learning where loyalties lie” or something along those lines. But to be honest, I can’t do that here. For me, Brenna Yovanoff just sat down to write about real people in real situations, and if there were any messages she wanted readers to take away from Paper Valentine, they weren’t obvious or easy to pick out. Everything was subtle, kept beneath the surface, and, in my opinion, masterfully done. This entire novel is approached with a fairly light hand, and the story was allowed to grow and shape organically. Authorial presence in this book is kept to a minimum.

Paper Valentine’s main character, Hannah, is teenager who’s being haunted—literally—by her best friend, Lillian. Lillian died six months ago after several years of being anorexic. And Lillian’s ghost is a projection of all the very worst things about Lillian. Her selfishness, her need for control, her obsession with perfection, her snobbishness. But in some way, Hannah still clings to Lillian, and neither of the girls is able to let the other go.

Aside from the obvious problem with Lillian’s ghost, Hannah’s also dealing with the reality of a serial killer loose in her town, one who targets young girls. Her parents and younger sister are understandably freaked out, and so is Hannah in a less significant way. Primarily, Hannah and Lillian take on something of an obsession with the murders, and that leads them into trouble. Trouble, in this case, takes the form of Finny Boone, a trouble youth with the scars and foster care experience to prove it.

Initially, Hannah is taken aback by her attraction for Finny, but not for long. With him, she finds the voice she’s always kept hidden, and when he tries to break things off, she isn’t afraid to speak out.

“Stop,” I tell him.
He glances over, squinting at me. “What?”
“Stop acting like you need to protect me from yourself.” And I sound angrier than I ever usually sound. “I’m not a victim or a fragile little thing. And maybe there’s dangerous stuff out there, but not you. Okay? I don’t need to be kept safe from you” (pg. 272).

And now that she’s found the courage to do it, Hannah begins talking back. First to her friends, who are jealous and petty and snooty. To them Hannah proves that she won’t be controlled any longer, not the way Lillian controlled her. And Hannah also speaks to her mother, who’s clung so long to an image of what “perfect Hannah” should be that she doesn’t quite know how to deal with Hannah’s grief and confusion.

“For maybe the first time in my life, she is listening to the words I’m saying and not telling me the words she thinks I should use” (pg.241).

As the different relationships in her life come into sharp relief, Hannah is forced to think about things and people differently. She has to learn (to some degree) who she is now that she’s out of Lillian’s shadow, and how to step out of the mold everyone expects her to fit into. Without a doubt, Hannah was a dynamic, well-rounded character, though her growth isn’t immediately obvious.

Eventually, of course, the serial killer catches up with Hannah and Lillian and Finny. The villain gave the obligatory monologue for the reader’s benefit—to recap important plot points without too much difficulty on the author’s part. But it all comes out right in the end, of course. Everyone safe and sound, happy and well. But Hannah still has to learn to come to terms with Lillian. Who she was, who she is as a ghost, and what their relationship meant.

“The idea that a person can be defined by anything so superficial [as sickness] is terrible. […] The simple version isn’t even recognizable when you hold it up against a living, breathing human being. Her ghost will always be so much less of her than the girl I used to see every day” (pg. 256).

Paper Valentine is a book that really defies categorization. It is its own entity, separate from anything else either the paranormal or mystery genres have to offer. Brenna Yovanoff’s storytelling is unique, her prose is engaging, and the way she treats characterization is uncomplicated and straightforward.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

The Ninja Club Sleepover
 
5.0
"THE NINJA CLUB SLEEPOVER is a great picture book for elementary school aged readers that explores friendship and feeling different...."
Weregirl
 
4.0
""Weregirl" takes the reader through a fantastic supernatural mystery within the small town of Tether. Tether's water supply had been..."
A Werewolf Named Oliver James
 
4.5
"Every day after band practice, Oliver James must be home by six o'clock sharp for dinner. However, tonight is different..."
The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones
 
4.7
"The first book in the world famous The Mortal Instruments series the City of Bones definitely lives up the hype...."
The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones
 
4.0
"I first read this series years ago before the third one had even come out and I loved them! They..."
Weregirl
 
3.3
"Nessa Kurland struggles with her day-to-day, typical teen life. She worries about how she will pay for college and if..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"rolex nuovo 2013rolex nuovo 2013rolex basilea[b][url=http://it.rolexswatches.top/]rolex nuovo 2013[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.rolexswatches.top/it/]rolex nuovo 2013[/url][/b][b][url=http://it.rolexswatches.top/]rolex basilea[/url][/b] [b][url=http://it.rolexswatches.top/]rolex nuovo..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"[b][url=http://it.burberrytrenchcoatwomen.top/]burberry occhiali da sole[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.burberrytrenchcoatwomen.top/it/]burberry occhiali da sole[/url][/b] burberryburberryburberry Burberry Factory Outlet Online Store, luogo ufficiale, 100% di qualità..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"hermes lusso di vendita on-linehermes lusso di vendita on-lineVendita on-line hermes [b][url=http://it.luxuryhermes.top/]hermes lusso di vendita on-line[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.luxuryhermes.top/it/]hermes lusso di vendita..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"usura spyder sci sconto usura spyder sci sconto [b][url=http://www.spyderoutdoor.top/it/]giacca spyder in vendita[/url][/b][b][url=http://it.spyderoutdoor.top/]outlet giacca spyder[/url][/b][b][url=http://www.spyderoutdoor.top/it/]outlet giacca spyder[/url][/b] Economici Spyder Donne Sci..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
" [b][url=http://it.hermesbelt.top/]sconto hermes borse[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.hermesbelt.top/it/]sconto hermes borse[/url][/b][b]hermes borse replica[/b] sconto hermes borsesconto hermes borsehermes..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"christian louboutin vendita christian louboutin vendita [b][url=http://www.christianlouboutinshoes.cn/it/christian-louboutin-sera-c-6.html]louboutin 2014[/url][/b] | [b][url=http://it.christianlouboutinshoes.cn/christian-louboutin-sera-c-6.html]louboutin 2014[/url][/b] | [b]louboutin 2014[/b] Christian Louboutin Calzari : Christian Louboutin..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"falsi orologi IWC in venditafalsi orologi IWC in venditaiwc swiss replica [b][url=http://it.fakeiwc.cn/]falsi orologi IWC in vendita[/url][/b][b][url=http://www.fakeiwc.cn/it/]falsi orologi IWC in vendita[/url][/b]..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"[b]signore giacche Barbour[/b] [b][url=http://www.barbouroutlet.co/it/]signore giacche Barbour[/url][/b] giacche Barbour in vendita giacche Barbour in vendita giacche Barbour in vendita ..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"replica orologireplica orologirolex [b][url=http://it.rolexstore.top/]replica orologi[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.rolexstore.top/it/]replica orologi[/url][/b] [b][url=http://it.rolexstore.top/]rolex[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.rolexstore.top/it/]rolex[/url][/b][b][url=http://it.rolexstore.top/]replica orologi[/url][/b][b][url=http://www.rolexstore.top/it/]replica orologi[/url][/b] Cosmograph Daytona..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"[b][url=http://www.spyderjackets.net/]spyder coats[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.spyderjackets.net/]spyder gloves[/url][/b] spyder jacket | spyder | spyder jackets Spyder Men Ski Suits ..."
Thornhill (Hemlock #2)
 
3.3
"After reading and loving Hemlock, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on Thornhill and revisit these characters. Peacock really..."
Thornhill (Hemlock #2)
 
4.3
"What I Loved: What a sequel! I really enjoyed HEMLOCK, book one in this series, and was hoping to..."
The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones
 
3.3
"First of all, I had wanted to read it for a very long time because it had good critics, the..."
The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones
 
4.3
"I loved this series so much, I've read it a few times now. Jace is one of my favorite hotties..."