Review Detail

Out of the Easy FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 3466
Incredible Storytelling
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Why I Loved It: Out of the Easy was nothing like Between Shades of Gray. But it was incredible nonetheless. I have never read a book with so many scenes in a brothel that I enjoyed so much. The book had ounces and ounces of character spiced between the pages, and I adored Jo. Adored her. No one quite writes historical fiction like Ruta Sepetys.

It has been a while since I have read a book set in New Orleans. I don't know much about the area, so I can't vouch for accuracy. However, as I read, the setting came to life. I kept waking from my book daydreams thinking I was in 1950 Louisiana. I even dreamed about the story one night after reading before bed. There were so many characters involved in some dirty business that I came to have a lot of respect for. *Remember they are fictional characters Deidra* The feel of the book was very much the delightful feeling I get from watching 50's gangster movies. I don't know why. Maybe it's how connected everyone in the book is with all the information men on the street watching everyone's every move.

Josie's *Jo* situation was sad, at times heartbreaking, but it wasn't the emotional wrenching experience of her previous book. Throughout the book, I experienced pleasure with Jo during the huge ups and downs that was her life. I wanted, more than anything, for her to succeed. She won my heart and my detest for Louise. She does not even deserve to be connected to Jo with the title of mother.

One of the biggest strengths of the book was how well developed the minor characters were. They didn't subtract or take away from Josie. Rather they were stories spun together to form the person that IS Josie. *Such is what makes great historical fiction* Cokie, a cab driver, was one of my favorites. He was the ray of light in the darkness of the Quarter. Ms. Sepetys has the ability to create the most despicable characters that you hate, and to take other characters doing despicable things and make you love them dearly.

Who Should Read It: I recommend this to anyone who enjoys some seriously good historical fiction. Its a book close to my heart, and I welcome you to bring it into yours.
Good Points
Incredible world building.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Lizzy McTizzy and the Busy Dizzy Day
 
4.0
"Lizzy McTizzy is late for a party but she can't find her shoe. She looks everywhere both inside and outside..."
Save Me a Seat
 
5.0
" Save Me A Seat by Sarah Weeks and Gita Varadarajan is must read that should be on every..."
Cheese
 
4.0
"Originally published as Oggie Cooder (2000) and Oggie Cooder, Party Animal (2009), Cheese capitalizes on Oggie's main hobby (and stress..."
Honey
 
4.0
"From the annoying neighbor girl, to a wig-wearing hairdresser, and a secret-keeping father, Honey is a novel that oozes with..."
Woof: A Love Story
 
3.5
"An ordinary dog who loves to do ordinary dog stuff is running along one day when he sees a beautiful..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Jinxie Audrey is an outsider in her school.  She looks funny, doesn't fit in and lives in a..."
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by flapjack This book  is a great way of saying there are just somethings in life you just..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ray Ray This book caught my eye on the shelf at my library. Once i started..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Mimi So B. It is one of those rare books that simply rocks! The author has such..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by mearley Soof--one of only 23 words that Heidi's mother speaks. Consumed with a need to find out..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by zach pacheco i cried a lot in this book and it seams as though in many parts..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Bella "So B. It?What kind of title is that?" That's what I first..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by GirlwiththeBraids Heidi It has always wondered about her life, her origin, and her family. Living with her..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by GirlwiththeBraids Regular Guy by Sarah Weeks In this clever novel, Sarah Weeks writes down the..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Dede Oggie Cooder is a spunky kid who charves (chews and carves) cheese when he is nervous...."
 
4.0
"Im starting to think that Sarah Weeks has a thing for interesting character names and words. In So B. It,..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Bria This story is truly something great. The charachters journey to becoming a fully realized person..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by bookworm9 So B. It is the type of book where you quickly have to suspend your disbelief,..."
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Tamanna I found this book very dull and boring. Personally, i very much like storie4s with ore..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jessica M I'm hear to tell you about So.B.It. The setting of this story is in Navada...."