Review Detail

The Hunt FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 3852
Definitely not your average vampire book!!
(Updated: February 01, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Four words. Best. Vampire. Book. Ever. Enough said. But since I want others to read it, I'll keep going. There is no vampire love, no mistake at all that the vampires are anything other than horrible, human-eating monsters.

In this world, humans (or hepers) are basically extinct. The world is full of vampires. And no, Twilight Fans, they are not romantic (yay!). Gene is a human. So, in order to survive in a world of vampires who turn into monsters at the sight of humans, he has to blend in. That means, shaving his legs, wearing fake fangs, never showing emotion, never getting sweaty. The list goes on. In this world, the ruler has decided that it's about time for a good heper hunt. So they have a lottery for five lucky contestants who will go and kill some hepers. The person who kills the most hepers wins. And guess what? Gene is chosen, along with the gorgeous girl from his school, who he designates "Ashley June". Can Gene survive amongst these bloodthirsty vamps? Can he hide his identity?

At first, I thought this book was going to turn out to be some sort of Hunger Games knock-off. I mean, throw seven "lucky" lottery winners into an arena to fight off as many as you can and be the winner. But this is DEFINITELY no Hunger Games knockoff. As soon as I began the book, I lost all suspicion about any copy.

Finally, a book where the vampires are not civilised people capable of love or standing in the sun or sleeping normally. No. These vamps are bloodthirsty monsters, who melt in the sun, sleep hanging off the roof, have completely emotionless faces, and scratch their wrists when they find something funny (strange, I know, but don't forget, these are not human).

The Hunt does feature a little bit of romance. Although this part of the book was very predictable, I still enjoyed it a lot.

Something I didn't realise throughout the entire book: the characters don't have any names. I don't know why, but that just slipped my mind until it was actually said.

The characters are amazing and completely not two-dimensional. They all have a backstory, something that a lot of YA novels conveniently forget. And then it turns out something like this: "How did we meet and why do we love each other (insert name here)?" "Oh, you know, just 'cause." "Okay then".

I loved the writing style. The way Gene was talking, it was like we were the vampires, explaining simple stuff we don't even think about (e.g. smiling, goosebumps, etc.). And you could see how much Gene was struggling to survive, even just in the every day world.

This book is completely amazing. Even though it may sound like a Hunger Games ripoff, trust me, it's not. So if you're looking for an action-packed, kick-ass and addictive novel, look no further. This book is not to be missed.
Good Points
- Everything. This. Book. Is. Amazing.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
February 04, 2013
Loved your review! I am reading the second book now.
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."