Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 7659
Pure Awesomeness. Mind-blowing.
(Updated: January 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Steph’s review: *small spoilers for Half-Blood and Pure*

I’ve been fretting for weeks on how to start this review. I read it pretty much right after it came out at the start of November, but I have just been pushing back the review because I am, no joke, absolutely speechless from it. I couldn’t produce a single coherent thought to write down! Now, after several weeks of rereading and deep mental processing, I can say that Deity is definitely the best JLA book I have ever read, and that is saying something, because as far as Dani and I are concerned, pretty much every JLA book is a 5 star read. Deity left my heart pounding and aching for more of the Covenant Series.

There is just so much I want to say about this book, and this review could probably continue for a few miles long, but I want to keep this as spoiler free as possible (TRUST ME. You do not want major spoilers for this Deity!!!).

This books picks up right where Pure left off. Alex and the gang have returned from the New York Council after the massive daimon attack. Right from the first chapter, very typical of JLA, there are already plot twists working themselves. Oh, you thought Pure and Half-Blood were bad with the twists and turns? I know I’ve mentioned before that Pure had lots of twists, but just wait until you read Deity. This book is full of them cover to cover, and I actually didn’t expect any of them this time! I swear I was gaping at the pages the entire time I read this! It is just so fast paced, and I had to stop and put the book on several occasions to process the events that just happened. I think the true plot of the Covenant series is really starting to broaden in Deity, and JLA really just dumps a load of information (good, extremely interesting and important info :)) into your head.
There is so much character development in Deity. Our Alex baby really starts grows up in this book. Maybe it’s all of the stress taking a toll on her, but she is now starting to think things through. Her actions are now done with what she believes is best for everyone she loves, rather than more selfish reasons that we see in Half-Blood. Sometimes her decisions weren’t the best for herself, but they were best for the people around her.

I think I need to bold this: As of Deity, I have officially converted from Team Seth to Team Aiden. I’d like to think Dani agrees. In the books before, I thought Aiden was kind of a douche since he was pretty much leading Alex on all the time and then just kicking her to the curb, saying things like “Oh I would destroy your life if we were together! But BY THE WAY I really like you! But we just can’t be together!” But now, I take back every bad thing I have ever said about Aiden, because he just MANS UP and goes for the gold in Deity. He is just so sweet and protective and supportive in this book, and his and Alex’s relationship is now going in a completely new direction *squeals!!!*. Did I mention he’s sexy as heck???

And then there is our new third wheel in the love triangle...Seth...

*sighs*. I don’t really want to say anything about Seth because I know anything I say would mean a giant rant with a giant spoiler somewhere in there. You will just need to read Deity for yourselves to understand what I mean. No matter what happens, I will always have hope for Seth, but I don’t think he will ever win me back to his “Team”.

There are lots of new characters introduced in Deity too “hint, hint” :), and I just won’t be able to get to all of them in this review. Even the recurring characters are changing so much, some for better and some for worse, like Deacon, Marcus, Lucian, Luke, etc. You name the character--they’ve changed.

Overall, Deity has just left me breathless and shocked. Honestly, no review can do it the full justice it deserves. I am craving Apollyon badly already, and I really do not know how I am going to survive the 5-month wait until April. The wait for Deity was bad enough, but the fricken super cliff-hanger ending of Deity has me screaming my head off for more! I really wish I could just hibernate through the winter and wake up to find that it’s April. I would give up 5 months of my life, just to read Apollyon now. I need it that bad.

I recommend Deity to everybody. If you have not started the Covenant series, I suggest you stop whatever you are doing, sit down, and start reading it. Deity was definitely worth the wait, and I can’t wait to see what happens in Apollyon!
Good Points
Everything. JLA knows what she's doing!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...

Latest Member Reviews

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
This is Your World
 
5.0
"THIS IS YOUR WORLD is a lovely picture book that introduces the world and the importance of taking care of..."