Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 9292
Creepy and Mind-blowing
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd
ARC received from HarperTeen
Release Date: 1-29-2013
Reviewed by: Middle Sis Jenn
The Sisters Say: Maniacal, Morose, and Magnificent

“I had an overwhelming feeling that the island wanted to sink its thorns into us, to bind us to this place.” ARC, pg. 318

Fueled by the incessant need to discover the truth, terrified by the uncontrollable madness that could be flowing through her veins, and quashed by the longing for the her savagely handsome old friend; Juliet travels to her father’s island, only to discover that some nightmares should never be brought into the light. Megan Shepherd’s world is gruesome and terrifying, filled with macabre creatures, obsessed madmen, and broken love.

This is the second gothic romance I have read in the past month, and I must say, this is definitely my new favorite genre. It’s eerie and beautiful, holding secrets best left buried. When I think of gothic romance, I think of the moors, thick with humid, with a layer of fog dancing diabolically over them; a place where you can feel the fear, the secrets, and the danger. And with this book, it’s like Megan took that scene, bottled it up, and then poured it out into her novel. All those same feelings came to me as Juliet fought through to the truth of the island. Megan’s world leaked from the page, and I felt like if I looked up, I would no longer be on my couch, but instead in the confines of a grisly laboratory bearing witness to unspeakable evils.

While the world remains my favorite part of this novel, I also really enjoyed the characters. Megan did a wonderful job of bringing them to life—even the minor characters. Their dialogue and actions made them unique and realistic, and I never felt like they were static and unknown. My favorite character was Edward, the castaway. The entire time I knew he was holding a secret (and disappointingly I guessed his secret too soon), but that just made him all the more intriguing. He was sweet, caring, and you could just tell he loved Juliet and wanted nothing more than to keep her safe. Megan wrote him perfectly—from physical appearance right down to the dirty secrets.

I enjoyed Juliet as the female main character, but unfortunately, she didn’t blow me away. I felt like there were times when what her father said was true—that she was weak and a victim to her own urges. She was strong one moment and then weak the next, and I wanted her to pick a side and stick with it. I wanted more of the Juliet that didn’t take any crap, and less of the Juliet that was weak-willed and too absorbed in what her father or London society might have said. I mean, she had already skipped out on the law in London, so why still feel like using London’s societal rules?

And then there’s Montgomery, the childhood friend who takes her to her father. He’s also got this savagely mad quality to him, but it’s in an entirely different way than the Doctor. He’s headstrong and brusque, but with a side to him that is vulnerable. I liked Montgomery because he was neither good nor evil—he was lost in the foggy grey, and truthfully, I don’t know if he would ever choose one life or the other. I kind of like that about him—he goes against London society and the island’s society. Watching him mature and discover where his loyalties lie was intriguing, and I am excited to see what is next for him.

Besides the few times that Juliet irked me, the only other thing that bothered me was the ending. I won’t say much other than I was disappointed in the character’s actions, those weaknesses (at least I think they are weakness….other’s might see them as strengths) finally getting the better of them. But, other than that, I loved this one!

Dark and unforgiving, Megan’s world will definitely keep you on your toes, and if you’re like me, you won’t be able to read it at night. Seriously, I was hearing scratching on my windows and things on the roof, so I had to put it aside to make sure I didn’t drive myself as mad as the Doctor! This books was gritty and beastly and unlike anything on the YA market right now. I highly recommend it to gothic horror and gothic romance lovers.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...

Latest Member Reviews

Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
"Junie Kim faces racist comments from a school bully at her middle school. Along with that her school is vandalized..."
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
"NOSOTROS MEANS US is a beautiful bilingual picture book about the enduring and unconditional love between mother and child. The..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."