Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3915
Absolutely Lovely
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What I Loved:

Basically everything. I really enjoyed Incarnate--lyrical prose, swoony romance, and an intriguing world--and was hoping for more of the same (and then some) in Asunder. I got my wish.

My favorite part of this series is Ana. Viewing this old world through her new eyes is fascinating, and it became especially clear in Asunder that because she didn't have hundreds of years of former lives under her belt, she was able to see solutions that the old souls missed. She really stepped up to the plate with courage and intelligence, and those moments were made even more poignant by the emotional fragility she still feels.

The romance continues to be swoonworthy, although there are definite obstacles. Some of those obstacles came from within the relationship, but many came from without which brings me to the next thing I loved about Asunder: the world. If I found the world of Heart and Range to be fascinating in Incarnate, it was doubly intriguing in Asunder. Many of the questions I had at the end of Incarnate were answered, and even more were raised. I felt fully satisfied as a reader while still longing for the third and final book.

Finally, I loved the stakes. I can't discuss them without spoiling the book, but let me tell you this: if you think you know why the temple has a heartbeat and why Ana is despised, you have NO IDEA. The truth is chilling and compelling and I just couldn't read fast enough!

What Left Me Wanting More:

Nothing except the fact that we have to wait another year for the final book in the trilogy. This was one of those perfect-for-me books.

Final Verdict:

Beautiful prose, a well-built world, high stakes, and a heroine worth cheering for make Asunder a lovely sequel to Incarnate. If you haven't given this series a chance, I highly recommend it.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
May 16, 2013
i want to read this book an incarnate so bad
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love exploring the different textures in this playful...
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On the night before Christmas, all over the house, not...
Belinda Fellgate: HellCat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary teen fantasy about an inept 14-year-old girl who...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling author...
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shipped halfway around the world to spend the summer...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. ...
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lira and Reyker have lost everything. Including each other....
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eva Marteinn never wanted to be a killer. Raised...
Things That Should Stay Buried
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some destinies are written in the stars. Others must...
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy...
Horrid
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of You Must Not Miss comes...
Tsalix Silverthorn and the Scepter of Destiny
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest phenomenal work from New York Times Bestselling author...
The Adventures of Bubba Jones (#4): Time Traveling Through Grand Canyon National Park
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth book of this award-winning national park series,...
The Companion
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The other orphans say Margot is lucky. Lucky to...
Sanctuary
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 2032, and in this near-future America, all citizens...
Teen Titans: Beast Boy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Author Kami Garcia (Beautiful Creatures) and artist Gabriel Picolo,...

Latest Member Reviews

Lost in the Antarctic: The Doomed Voyage of the Endurance
 
5.0
"LOST IN THE ANTARCTIC takes you on the doomed, yet brave journey of the ship called the Endurance and its..."
History's Mysteries: Freaky Phenomena: Curious Clues, Cold Cases, and Puzzles From the Past
 
5.0
"HISTORY'S MYSTERIES: FREAKY PHENOMENA teaches about the theories, clues and details behind occurrences that seem out of this world. The..."
Max Tilt: 80 Days or Die
 
4.0
"After finding an enormous treasure with his cousin Alex, Max's family has built a big new house and is enjoying..."
The Whydah: A Pirate Ship Feared, Wrecked, and Found
 
4.0
"Sandler brings history to life through the myths and legends of the Whydah, an 18th century pirate ship which sank..."
Max Tilt: Fire the Depths
 
4.0
"Max Tilt (short for Trujillo, as his father is Dominican. His mother is African American) is having a number of..."
The Doldrums and the Helmsley Curse
 
4.3
"The Doldrums are back in this mystery and intrigue-laden Middle Grade continuation. Though it’s definitely a sequel, the story has..."
Death on the River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt's Amazon Adventure
 
4.0
"We all have this vague idea that Teddy Roosevelt was an adventurer, but I had no idea the depth of..."
Mission Mumbai: A Novel of Sacred Cows, Snakes, and Stolen Toilets
 
5.0
"MISSION MUMBAI by Mahtab Narsimhan is an unexpected and powerful addition to middle grade novels. The story of two boys,..."
LEGO Planets: A LEGO Adventure In The Real World
 
4.0
"In this informative introductory guide, LEGO borrows heavily from NASA images and taps a comic-style to walk kids through our..."
Every Hidden Thing
 
5.0
"I had such fun reading this book. My oldest son turned me into a dinosaur nerd when he was around..."
Every Hidden Thing
 
5.0
"If there's one historical YA book about romance, travel, and adventure to read in 2016, it's this one. Every Hidden..."
The Doldrums
 
4.3
"An enchantingly quirky jaunt of a story—ideal for fans of Roald Dahl or Lemony Snicket. The Doldrums is a..."
Maps Activity Book
 
5.0
"The MAPS ACTIVITY BOOK from Big Picture Press is a delightful drawing, learning, and coloring book designed to teach kids..."
Byrd and Igloo: A Polar Adventure
 
4.0
"Told from the perspective of the companion of explorer Richard Byrd, a little stray named Igloo, this book outlines some..."