Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2924
An authentic and touching debut
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Loved:
Reece Malcolm is Devan's Mitchell's mother, and this, along with four other facts, equals the sum total of Devan's knowledge about Reece. After her father's death, Reece's lawyer picks Devan up in St. Louis and flies with her to L.A., her new home. Every chapter opens with a continuation of Devan's list of things she knows about her introverted, prickly mother. Their relationship forms the core of the story, much more important than the romance or Devan's calling to perform in musicals.

Reece definitely probably will not be winning any mother of the year awards, but I really love her character. She does not act remotely like the stereotypical mom (either in the neglectful or involved sense), but, through her gruff exterior, you can see her attempts at affection. Being of an emotionally clumsy, somewhat taciturn disposition myself, I totally get Reece. She's a very permissive parent, allowing Reece to go out and do pretty much whatever she wants, but very much a present one, as is Reece's live-in boyfriend Brad. They have a lot of family dinners and shopping excursions, and she always knows what's going on in Devan's life. Plus, Reece probably wouldn't do anything too objectionable anyway, so really deserves to be trusted with that freedom. I also love the fights that they have, because they were very much true to life, full of intentionally brutal comments that later result in regret.

Devan, too, delights me and, other than being somewhat reserved and highly talented, is very much unlike Reece. Except when it comes to music and acting, Devan worries and constantly apologizes for things. She bottles up her emotions, polite to everyone even when they're rude, until she explodes and delivers a tirade. Devan's narrative voice includes a lot of humor, teen angst, and passion. She also just feels a hundred percent like a real teenager.

All of the other characters are fantastic too, even some of the lesser characters like Mira receiving some real consideration. What I love best about this book is how honestly teen it feels. The relationship drama, while full of angst and a huge portion of Devan's mental lanscape, does not come off as the most important aspect of her life. As much as she stresses thinks about boys, she does not act like her life will be ruined without a boy or like she's in true love forever. Plus, all of the relationships in here feel so real, awkward, ill-defined, and messy. Despite that, Devan's narration definitely keeps the book on the happier end of the contemporary scale, because her love of theater helps her maintain balance and perspective.

What Left Me Wanting More:
My only slight reservation deals with the writing style, which for the most part I love. The storytelling sounds completely like Reece, and really helps throw you into her head, so that is fantastic. The only questionable element is the use of strikethroughs to express Devan's confusion about her emotions. They are a bit too cutesy, and I really think Spalding got Devan's emotional state across perfectly well without that.

The Final Verdict:
Amy Spalding's debut sparkles with wit and characterization, and I highly recommend it! I will definitely be reading whatever she happens to write next, and really wouldn't mind if it were more books about Devan. ;)
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
March 15, 2013
I've heard so many good things about this one! This was another one I'd just kind of written off probably due to lack of buzz. I hadn't heard much, so I wasn't expecting much, but all of a sudden great reviews started popping up all over the place. I'll definitely be checking this one out soon. Great review!
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Gathering Blue (The Giver Quartet #2)
 
3.3
"MY THOUGHTS If you're expecting a sequel to The Giver, you will be very disappointed. The two books are completely..."
Gathering Blue (The Giver Quartet #2)
 
4.7
"Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry is an amazing book. I would recommend this book to kids age 11-adult because this..."
 
2.7
"This book was an easy read and I enjoyed that the events of the present were broken up by chapters..."
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The Off Season differs quite a bit from Dairy Queen. Where in Dairy Queen, the focus is..."
Dairy Queen
 
4.0
"What I Liked: Though I haven't had much chance to reread since I began blogging, it's one of my favorite..."
 
5.0
"I loved this book I really don’t know where to start with this review. Because I loved Dairy Queen (especially..."
Dairy Queen
 
4.0
"D.J. Schwenk is a “cow.” Or at least, that’s what Brian Nelson thinks, since she runs her family’s farm by..."
 
3.7
"Wildthorn is not an ideal choice for those in search of happy fun times all the way through, but definitely..."
Dairy Queen
 
5.0
"I really need to pick up the second book!"
 
5.0
"Who put me here? That is the question that Louisa Cosgrove keeps thinking of as she is held captive in..."
 
5.0
"A stunning conclusion to one of my favorite trilogies. I love that Tolkien's world is so thoroughly built. I can..."
 
4.7
"This isn't my favorite of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, mostly because it is obviously a middle book and..."
 
4.0
"Seventeen-year-old Louisa Cosgrove finds herself taken by a horse-drawn carriage to Wildthorn Hall, an asylum for the insane. She's..."
Fire Will Fall
 
4.0
"Fire Will Fall picks up where Streams of Babel left off. The Trinity Four have been isolated in a..."
Dairy Queen
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by B I was inspired to write this review because this book was recently a Jeopardy question..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mairi Football season started well for Red Bend, as they defeated Hawley for the first time..."
Crazy Beautiful
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Yan In the back of the book the description compares this book to that of Disneys Beauty..."
Boy Toy
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Erica Boy ToyBarry LygaRelease Date: September 24, 2007Publisher: GraphiaPages: 416Rating: 4 starsFive years ago Joshs life changed...."
Ghost Huntress: The Awakening
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Lizzy It took me a while to get into this book. In fact, at first I was..."