Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 4048
Fantastic Sequel!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Thank you YABC and Katherine Tegen Books for this ARC. *flails*

I really enjoyed Incarnate (especially Sam) and was so excited when I found out I would have the chance to read Asunder early. I made some tea, slipped on my fingerless "Ana" gloves that I asked a friend to knit for me, settled into my favorite reading spot and proceeded to get nervous. Why? Well, I was afraid of the sophomore slump. What if I didn't like it? What if Sam gets eaten by a dragon or a Sylph sneezes and burns all of Heart down?

I should've known I had nothing to worry about especially when Jodi Meadows didn't even make me wait 10 pages before the kissing began! *smiles REALLY big* The pacing is perfect and the world building detailed. I laughed, I cried and I was completely freaked out by the temple and those creepy heartbeat walls. *thumpthump thumpthump*

I love how smart, strong and selfless Ana is and that she's willing to stand up for others no matter the cost and trust me, there is great sacrifice in this book. *cries* I also enjoy her reactions to new and unfamiliar things; one scene in particular had me laughing so hard I cried.

"...someone would be in charge of shutting the door." pg. 83 (ARC)

I appreciate that Ana's relationship with Sam has been allowed to develop and grow in a way that feels realistic. He supports and encourages her but he's also patient. He knows how difficult her life has been and that it's not easy for her to love or allow herself to be loved. Sam has faith in Ana and believes she is capable of far more than anyone could've imagined. Their relationship gets tested in ways that I thought would break my heart for sure. (I tend to get a little attached to fictional characters.) In one particularly heart-wrenching moment, where Ana really needs Sam to come through for her, I found myself walking away from Asunder until I was sure I would be able to handle the outcome. (Like I said, "attached") Sam always wants to do right by Ana and it's not hard to understand why everyone falls in love with him, I mean, I think there's only a handful of people in Heart who aren't in love with him. Clearly, they are the real nosouls. *winks*

Asunder really is a fabulous sequel and it reads like a beautiful orchestral piece. (OK, I realize that sentence and my fancy word usage may not make sense even though it does in my head, but I really did feel like I was reading a song, or listening to one of Dossam's masterpieces.) Incarnate readers who were left wondering about slyph, the fate of newsouls or how the heck this whole reincarnation trend got started in the first place need not worry. All of those questions (and then some) are answered but you probably want to make sure you have tissues handy.

Good Points
The cover is beautiful AND the pages have roses on them.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
May 16, 2013
the cover is so pretty and the pages have roses? they sound amazing
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

The Last Grand Adventure
 
5.0
"Bea's parents are divorced, her father remarried, and her mother taking advantage of the social upheaval of 1967 to travel..."