Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3480
Fantastic Sequel!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Thank you YABC and Katherine Tegen Books for this ARC. *flails*

I really enjoyed Incarnate (especially Sam) and was so excited when I found out I would have the chance to read Asunder early. I made some tea, slipped on my fingerless "Ana" gloves that I asked a friend to knit for me, settled into my favorite reading spot and proceeded to get nervous. Why? Well, I was afraid of the sophomore slump. What if I didn't like it? What if Sam gets eaten by a dragon or a Sylph sneezes and burns all of Heart down?

I should've known I had nothing to worry about especially when Jodi Meadows didn't even make me wait 10 pages before the kissing began! *smiles REALLY big* The pacing is perfect and the world building detailed. I laughed, I cried and I was completely freaked out by the temple and those creepy heartbeat walls. *thumpthump thumpthump*

I love how smart, strong and selfless Ana is and that she's willing to stand up for others no matter the cost and trust me, there is great sacrifice in this book. *cries* I also enjoy her reactions to new and unfamiliar things; one scene in particular had me laughing so hard I cried.

"...someone would be in charge of shutting the door." pg. 83 (ARC)

I appreciate that Ana's relationship with Sam has been allowed to develop and grow in a way that feels realistic. He supports and encourages her but he's also patient. He knows how difficult her life has been and that it's not easy for her to love or allow herself to be loved. Sam has faith in Ana and believes she is capable of far more than anyone could've imagined. Their relationship gets tested in ways that I thought would break my heart for sure. (I tend to get a little attached to fictional characters.) In one particularly heart-wrenching moment, where Ana really needs Sam to come through for her, I found myself walking away from Asunder until I was sure I would be able to handle the outcome. (Like I said, "attached") Sam always wants to do right by Ana and it's not hard to understand why everyone falls in love with him, I mean, I think there's only a handful of people in Heart who aren't in love with him. Clearly, they are the real nosouls. *winks*

Asunder really is a fabulous sequel and it reads like a beautiful orchestral piece. (OK, I realize that sentence and my fancy word usage may not make sense even though it does in my head, but I really did feel like I was reading a song, or listening to one of Dossam's masterpieces.) Incarnate readers who were left wondering about slyph, the fate of newsouls or how the heck this whole reincarnation trend got started in the first place need not worry. All of those questions (and then some) are answered but you probably want to make sure you have tissues handy.

Good Points
The cover is beautiful AND the pages have roses on them.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
May 16, 2013
the cover is so pretty and the pages have roses? they sound amazing
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....
Wintercake
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This cozy, gently humorous, and irresistible holiday tale from Newbery...
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Ruth Krauss, the celebrated children’s book author of The...
The Bear and the Star
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
In this universal celebration of community and love, Bear gathers...
I Do Not Like That Name
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This funny picture book about friendship, family, identity, and why...

Latest Member Reviews

Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
Reverie
 
5.0
"REVERIE is a captivating and unique YA fantasy without adequate comparisons. The book follows Kane, a teenage boy who was..."
Coral
 
3.0
"CORAL is not a fairytale retelling of THE LITTLE MERMAID- while it may have been inspired by some of the..."
You Are The Everything
 
4.0
"YOU ARE THE EVERYTHING is an intriguing stream-of-consciousness style read that follows Elyse Schmidt, a 16/17 year old girl who..."
The Last Hope
 
4.7
"I honestly don’t know where to begin! The Last Hope by Krista & Becca Ritchie picks up thirty days after..."
 
4.0
"Most books about a school shooting would start with the horrific event at the center of story, but EVERY MOMENT..."
The Bone Houses
 
5.0
"THE BONE HOUSES is a beautifully crafted and full engrossing YA fantasy with some horror aspects. Aderyn (Ryn) is a..."
The Silence Between Us
 
4.7
"THE SILENCE BETWEEN US is an #ownvoices story about Maya, a senior in high school who has just moved with..."
Beasts of the Frozen Sun
 
4.7
"BEASTS OF THE FROZEN SUN features lush world-building, compelling characters, and a captivating plot that make it an engrossing read...."
Snow & Rose
 
5.0
"NOTE: Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own."
Where I End and You Begin
 
4.0
"All Ezra wants to do is ask his crush Imogen to the prom. But when he and his friend Holden..."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
"When Edie moves back to Mansfield to life with her aunt, uncle, and two cousins, she is reunited with her..."
The Beholder
 
4.0
"When Selah's proposal to her childhood crush is rejected, she is sent away on a boat to meet possible suitors...."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"THE BURNING SHADOW is a fantastic and thrilling continuation of the spin-off Origin series. Just like the original series, there..."
Gods of Jade and Shadow
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Casiopea feels trapped in her rich grandfather’s home in southern Mexico. She wants to leave their small town and..."
 
3.0
"THE HIVE by Barry Lyga and Morgan Baden is a YA sci-fi novel set in the near future. In this..."
Remember Me
 
3.7
"REMEMBER ME is an engaging mystery/thriller that goes back and forth through time. We follow Lea in the past when..."