Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2902
Ascend by Amanda Hocking (Trylle #3)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
“I don’t want only one night. I want all the nights. I want all of you, forever.”
? Amanda Hocking, Ascend

Ascend is the dramatic conclusion to Amanda Hocking’s Trylle series. Wendy’s journey has been hard. Not only does she find out that she is a Troll-she is a Troll Princess! Don’t believe everything that fairy tales say; Trolls look like everyone else. They are not ugly mis-happened creatures that hide under bridges waiting to surprise you, but maybe the person sitting right beside of you.

Wendy’s world has been turned upside down. How can she rule people that she knows nothing about? Her birth Mother is teaching her the ropes, but those ropes feel more like a noose. Not to mention that her father is evil and wants to conquer her people and rule her Kingdom.

Tove is teaching her how to control and use her magical abilities. Wendy comes from two very strong bloodlines and it shows in her magic. With magic there always comes a price. In the Trylle world the more you use your magic, the more of your life energy is taken from you. Unfortunately, the magic has a mind of its own and if it is not used can cause madness and pain.

Wendy’s love life is beyond complicated. She thought that she was in love with Finn, but then she meet Loki-an enemy Prince…and married Tove! Did I mention it was complicated? Her Kingdom must come first; but should she sacrifice true love? There are a lot of people looking to her for guidance and protection. Can a Princess, who is soon to be Queen, marry for love and still save her Kingdom?

Ascend is a story that weaves an enchantment into your very soul. Join Wendy as she face’s hobgoblins, evil Kings, marriage, and all too tempting guys. Will she be able to vanquish her father, save her kingdom, and follow her heart?
Good Points
In a literary world filled with all kinds of supernatural creatures, with the Vampires being dominant in the food chain, it is refreshing to read a story about Trolls. Not many stories are written that portray trolls in good light. Amanda Hocking takes the idea of Trolls looking just like everyone else and creates a world and characters that you fall in love with.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Someone to Love Me (Bluford #4)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Trinnie I think this book is pretty much saying you have to sometimes listen to the people..."
Until We Meet Again (Bluford #7)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Marah Until we Meet Again By: Anne Schraff Hakeem Darcys boyfriend..."
Someone to Love Me (Bluford #4)
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Jazmain.S Dear Mrs.Anne Shraff I love readin your bluford high school books they are my favorite out..."
Secrets in the Shadows (Bluford #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by flower i love all the blueford high bookz. im suprised dat im even readin. for the..."
Matter of Trust (Bluford #2)
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Mz.Maxie I really enjoyed this book.The reason i liked dis book is because its reality and the..."
Lost and Found (Bluford #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by babyboo This book is the best I have been through alot of this stuff. I believe..."
Matter of Trust (Bluford #2)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by nunu Darcy finally started dating hakeem and her friend from grade school,brisana always talked about hakeem and..."
Someone to Love Me (Bluford #4)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Maiya "Somebody to Love Me" is the best book i have ever read in my life!! I..."
Lost and Found (Bluford #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by zaza This book is about a girl name Darcy that has to take care of her grandmother..."
Lost and Found (Bluford #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by olyvia boooo i'm reding a book a called Lost and Found it is about a girl..."
Until We Meet Again (Bluford #7)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kendyl all i wont to say before i tell you what i feel is i cryd about..."
Until We Meet Again (Bluford #7)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by al Until we Meet Again Is a very instersaing book it make you imagin what darcy..."