Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3830
Enchanting Tale
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I love paranormals that are able to swept readers away with addictive storytelling. Add romance to the mix and I'm hooked.

ECHO is the second book in The Soul Seekers series. I felt this book was Daire's heroine's journey as she learns more about her mystic abilities in order to battle Cade(Dace's evil twin) and bring order back to the Lowerworld. Cade has done lots of damage and it's Daire's destiny to help stop him. There's twists and turns along with some surprising revelations.

Daire is strong and not one of those girls that just swoons over a hot guy. I especially loved how it's her that chooses what to do and not to wait around for Dace to solve the problems that have come to Enchantment, New Mexico. Sometimes she's rash and other times unsure but still she's willing to confront the issues head on.

There's a surreal feel to this series that reminds me of BLESS ME, ULTIMA. Just like that classic tale, Daire is guided by her abuela, on finding her abilities and how to use them.

And did I mention the romance? Daire and Dace's chemistry is intense and sizzling. Whenever they are by each other, sparks fly. It's not just the physical attraction that keeps Daire coming back. Around his identical twin, she only feels revulsion to his darkness. Dace is filled with light and goodness.

The other characters in this story add to the flavor of this highly addictive read. The story alternates between Daire and Dace's point of view so readers can see how both of them deal with the serious problems destroying their town.

Towards the end there is metamorphosis that I'm sure is continued in MYSTIC, the next story in this series.

Mix surrealism, a prophecy, and a love that knows no bounds for one amazing read. I couldn't put this book down!
Good Points
1. Love the surrealist feel to this paranormal tale
2. Great chemistry between Daire and Dace
3. Engaging romance
4. Highly addictive read
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

Blood Dragons (Rebel Vampires Volume 1)
 
5.0
"Blood Dragons (Rebel Vampires, Book 1) by Rosemary A. Johns The Story: As the love of his many lives..."