Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2257
Brilliant
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This is an amazing book. As sad as this sounds, I can't wait for Monday so I can go to the library and borrow the next one.

Sabriel is an eighteen-year-old necromancer. Yes, Necromancer, as in she can go into Death and bring dead things out.... or send the undead back in.

She goes to Wyverly college, and everything is just fine until he finds out from an undead messenger that her father is actually in Death and imprisoned there. So, naturally, she goes out to try and save him.

Her first stop is at their old house, where she meets a cat-who-is-actually-a-Free-magic-creature called Mogget. Free magic creatures are basically evil things created by evil magic and the only reason Mogget is not killing her is because he is imprisoned by a magic collar. Is it strange that a talking, possibly-evil, sarcastic magic cat is my favourite character in this book? I just loved him. He reminded me a bit of Grimalkin in the Iron Fey series.

Then a little through the book they meet a wooden statue that is actually a frozen person. Sabriel goes to Death to find him, and it turns out that he has been frozen for 200+ years and can't remember anything, and calls himself Touchstone.

So these are our three heroes, who go against the forces of evil to try and rescue Sabriel's father and beat the most completely evil of all Free magic creatures called Kerrigor.

Now, more on the necromancy stuff. Sabriel has these six? seven? bells that have magic power and can do awesome stuff like send the Dead back into dead and make them talk (you try talking through a rotten, disgusting mouth) and stuff like that. She also has a magic sword, both gifts from her father, to help her and stuff.

Oh yeah, almost forgot to mention. Her father is a very respected kind of person called the Abhorsen, because he's a guy who sends the dead back to Death. And now Sabriel has got to take on that responsibility.

Garth Nix has imagined and portrayed Sabriel's world fantastically. Give this one a try.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love exploring the different textures in this playful...
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On the night before Christmas, all over the house, not...
Belinda Fellgate: HellCat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary teen fantasy about an inept 14-year-old girl who...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling author...
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shipped halfway around the world to spend the summer...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. ...
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lira and Reyker have lost everything. Including each other....
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eva Marteinn never wanted to be a killer. Raised...
Things That Should Stay Buried
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some destinies are written in the stars. Others must...
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy...
Horrid
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of You Must Not Miss comes...
Tsalix Silverthorn and the Scepter of Destiny
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest phenomenal work from New York Times Bestselling author...
The Adventures of Bubba Jones (#4): Time Traveling Through Grand Canyon National Park
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth book of this award-winning national park series,...
The Companion
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The other orphans say Margot is lucky. Lucky to...
Sanctuary
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 2032, and in this near-future America, all citizens...
Teen Titans: Beast Boy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Author Kami Garcia (Beautiful Creatures) and artist Gabriel Picolo,...

Latest Member Reviews

The Inheritance Games (The Inheritance Games, #1)
 
5.0
"THE INHERITANCE GAMES is a twisty mystery full of unique characters. Avery Grambs is living out of her car after..."
None Shall Sleep
 
4.3
"NONE SHALL SLEEP is an engaging YA psychological thriller. The book follows Emma Lewis, who in the past was captured..."
Stolen from the Studio (Case Closed, #2)
 
4.0
"STOLEN FROM THE STUDIO is a fun middle grade mystery with a choose-your-own-adventure plot. Carlos travels with his mother, a..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Deeplight
 
4.0
"Hark and Jelt grew up together, without families and with barely enough to get by. Jelt turns to more and..."
The Alchemist's Shadow (Watch Hollow #2)
 
4.0
"Lucy and Oliver Tinker and their father Charles are getting settled into Watch Hollow after their harrowing introduction to it..."
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
"King's friend Thor is in big trouble. His owner, Jillian, got a call from the grumpy Mr. Gary that Thor..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
 
5.0
"Short story collections are hard to review, especially when one includes so many fantastic authors! My students will be glad..."
Daphne and Velma: The Vanishing Girl
 
3.7
"Daphne Blake and Velma Dinkley are opposites. Daphne is popular, traditionally pretty, and sociable. Velma prefers books and information to..."
The Sullivan Sisters
 
5.0
"Eileen, Claire, and Murphy Sullivan used to be close. They had their special traditions, their shared laughs, and their shared..."
Deathstrike (Ultraball #2)
 
4.0
"After narrowly avoiding disaster in Ultraball, the Miners (coached by Strike) are back for a new season. When the team..."
All Your Twisted Secrets
 
4.7
"Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying A delightfully twisty page-turner, fans of Karen M. McManus will..."
Premeditated Myrtle
 
4.0
"In 1893, Myrtle is being raised by her father, a lawyer, and her governess, Miss Judson, after the death of..."
Sabotage (Beatrice Zinker, Upside Down Thinker (3))
 
4.0
"Beatrice calls a meeting of Operation Upside with her friends Sam and Lenny, and they decide what the newest awards..."
Winterbourne Home for Vengeance and Valor
 
4.0
"April lives in an orphanage, and on a class trip to the Winterbourne Museum, she has a disastrous experience and..."
Clique Bait
 
4.3
"The Story: Chloe is after revenge for what happened the year before to her best friend. She blames the..."
The Silence of Bones
 
4.3
"June Hur’s THE SILENCE OF BONES follows Seol, a young woman indentured to the police in 1800s Joseon (Korea). Her..."
Fractures (Echoes, #2)
 
3.0
"FRACTURES follows up ECHOES with a similar adventure and eventually leading to the answers we sought in the first book...."