Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 18706
Subtle & Hauntingly Dark
(Updated: October 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The Demon Catchers of Milan was subtle in its hauntingly dark and ominous atmosphere. Descriptions reminiscent of classic horror novels combined with a deliciously teasing air of mystery kept me in suspense for much of the book. A lacklustre and slightly confusing plot with little resolution did lessen my enjoyment of the overall experience, but I still really enjoyed The Demon Catchers of Milan.

Set within the beautiful and exciting city of Milan, The Demon Catchers of Milan was enveloped by a deep-rooted family history which permeated every surface Mia encountered. The foundation of her Milanese relatives' house was built by her ancestors and their presence is a lingering force that provided Mia with safety and comfort, even during her stifling first few months of relative seclusion. The powerful history also added a dark tone to the novel, as it whispered of answers within Mia's grasp that could unlock the mysteries surrounding her demon catcher heritage and the demon determined to call her his own. I also loved that Beyer provided us with a classic method of demon exorcisms, incorporating bells, candles and family-tested secrets, adding a certain creepiness and fearfulness to each demon encounter. While I love a good action-packed Buffy-style demon slaying, something a little more subtle suited The Demon Catchers of Milan much better and was a refreshing change.

Mia was an interesting character. Her growth is subtle and understated, like much of The Demon Catchers of Milan, and is something that really takes you by surprise. Her revelations about herself, her demon, and the art of demon catching happen in small moments when she is alone with her thoughts and aren't given much fanfare. Her original perceptions about herself, of being mousy and unattractive in comparison to her younger sister, are replaced slowly with a new-found confidence that blossoms with her growing self-awareness that only comes with maturity. Her perceptiveness about her surroundings and her inquisitive mind led her to figure things out for herself, without having to be spoon-fed the information by her relatives. This did leave us in the dark for much of the book, and it did create some frustrating moments of confusion, but it made her continuous character development possible because of her tenacity in the face of the unknown.

Most of my confusion was the result of Mia's extensive family. With a lot of Italian thrown around, I found myself wishing I was able to speak the language. I kept mis-reading Nonna and Nonno or Francesca and Francesco, which obviously had me re-reading sections for clarification. It definitely didn't help that I was also confused about demon catching for most of the book, or about why Mia's family was being so secretive.

But my main issue was The Demon Catchers of Milan's lacklustre plot. Various plot lines were touched on - Emilio's struggles with his father's death, Lucifero's mention of Martegno and his role in Mia's grandfather's separation from his family, the satanists, Signora Negroponte and the obvious tension she shares with Mia's Nonna - and then dropped. Much was left unsaid and any attempt Mia made to uncover the truth was met with resistance or the promise of an answer in the future. It did make The Demon Catchers of Milan feel almost like a prequel, rather than the first of a planned trilogy, as not much happens. There is much buildup, and the promise of great things to come, but the ending leaves us with little in the way of a satisfactory resolution.

My issues aside, however, I really enjoyed reading The Demon Catchers of Milan. I was (mostly) able to forget about my issues because I found the atmosphere so all-encompassing and the idea of old-school demon catchers so intriguing. While I was unsatisfied with the ending, I am excited to see what's next in store for Mia!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
 
5.0
"THE COURT OF MIRACLES is an enagaging and lush YA historical that imagines an alternate France where the revolution has..."
Firebrand (Steeplejack #2)
 
4.7
"Now working as a private detective/spy, Ang may be living a financially healthier life than her years a steeplejack, but..."
Silver Stars (Front Lines)
 
4.3
"I really enjoyed reading the first book in this series, Front Lines, so I was really excited for this sequel...."
The Turncoat's Gambit
 
5.0
"THE TURNCOAT’S GAMBIT by Andrea Cremer is the conclusion of an alt-history trilogy that examines the what-ifs of a failure..."
Silver Stars (Front Lines)
 
5.0
"Just wowza. I'm a huge fan of FRONT LINES, the first book in the series. This series is an..."
Wolf By Wolf
 
4.3
"Intriguing take on 'what would have happened if Hitler had won the war'. Add to that a wicked paranormal..."
Smoke
 
3.0
"In historical England, people give off Smoke. It is generally accepted that this Smoke is a product of sin, and..."
Plus One
 
4.0
"Elizabeth Fama sets her novel, PLUS ONE, in a segregated world where half of the population lives and works in..."
The Only Thing to Fear
 
3.7
"History has taken an awful twist in THE ONLY THING TO FEAR. Hitler and his cronies have taken over the..."
Front Lines
 
4.7
"I usually avoid reading WWII novels, whether they are young adult or non-fiction, because I don’t like how they all..."
Front Lines
 
4.0
"An alternate history story of World War 2 where women are eligible to be drafted after a court ruling. Front..."
Front Lines
 
5.0
"In this alternate history, women are subject to being drafted and can enlist during World War II. Three of the..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
4.0
"In the year 1818, Alasdair Finch lives in a world where men have mechanical parts and live hidden away with..."
Newt's Emerald
 
4.7
"Regency London? Check. Magic? Check. Adventures? Check. Cross-dressing girls? Check. I wasn’t sure..."
Ink And Bone: The Great Library
 
3.3
"Travel Companion: If we traveled with the main character Jess Brightwell, he would be: The Scholar ..."
Ink And Bone: The Great Library
 
4.7
"Rachel Caine delivers an intriguing new series in an alternative world where the Great Library of Alexandria has survived. ..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
4.3
"This was one book I enjoyed thoroughly. I saw the cover and was interested right away. The tagline, all's fair..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
5.0
"I absolutely adored Rebel Mechanics. The voice is so strong throughout the story, and there is a perfect amount of..."
The Only Thing to Fear
 
4.7
"The Only Thing to Fear is one of the quickest reads this year. Caroline Tung Richmond takes a unique spin..."
Plus One
 
3.3
"First, let me start by stating the obvious: this cover is beautiful! I have to say it is one of..."