Review Detail

The Raft FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 7392
Pleasantly Surprised!
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Initially intrigued by the undertaking that S.A. Bodeen tackled, that of making floating at sea in a dingy not only interesting, but suspenseful, I have to admit that I was pleasantly surprised by The Raft. While not without it's flaws - a selfish, monotone protagonist and a not-so-surprising twist ending - The Raft was a quick and entertaining read.

Robie was not an easy protagonist to like. A little younger than most YA protagonist's I read about, at fifteen Robie was quite immature. Knowing her best chance of survival is to lessen the weight in the raft, she decides to toss an unconscious Max overboard, leaving him tied behind the raft in a lifejacket to float along behind her. This is after she goes through his personal belongings and eats half of his Skittles. Later, we watch her catch and eat a fish, without bothering to try and wake up Max to offer him some before it spoiled in the sun's heat. She feels pangs of guilt over her actions, but justifies them as part of her quest for survival. So while I can mostly understand her reasoning, I had a hard time relating to her decisions.

She was also quite a monotone protagonist, with understated reactions to extreme situations being the norm. Unless she was concerned about a tiger shark attack, not much fazed her. She remarked on her surroundings and chances of survival with an almost calculated apathy, and Max's declining health was of little consequence. Further, much of Robie's time spent floating at sea was passed with seemingly endless facts about the surrounding marine life - what types of fish were toxic, why coral reef was so deadly, the mating and migrating habits of the Albatross, the penalty of interfering with a near-extinct type of seal, and the list goes on. While a part of me found the random facts to be interesting, there was also a part of me that had to fight against skipping whole paragraphs of dull and useless information.

Max's role in The Raft was haphazard and scattered, with him regaining consciousness for brief periods where he would continue to share his life's story. He was conveniently conscious when Robie needed a push to do something, or when she was feeling the most lonely. He was never really developed as a character, and so I had little sympathy for him or his past.

Even though the majority of the book is spent in a raft, Bodeen's pacing was spot-on, allowing for a suspenseful read. I waited for the next obstacle for Robie to overcome with bated breath, always questioning if the next obstacle would be her undoing. I enjoyed seeing the depths to which Robie was able to push herself - both mentally and physically - in order to survive, and her quick-thinking saved her life in several situations. But with The Raft's ending came a "shocking" twist that revealed a truth about Robie that was slightly disturbing. Without getting in to spoilers, I'll just say that after almost two weeks at sea, her physical health isn't the only thing that her parents should be worried about!

A quick read, I enjoyed The Raft. Robie was not my favourite protagonist, but I watched with an almost morbid fascination as she fought the elements in order to survive. Even though I saw the twist coming, I still enjoyed watching Robie come to terms with its' consequences. If you're looking for a quick and entertaining read, The Raft might be just what you need!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."
 
4.0
"NASA and the US space program are a direct result of the increases in aeronautical technology due to World War..."
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
"Born in 1908, Thurgood Marshall experienced an array of institutionalized racial injustices in his New York and Baltimore homes, even..."
Down Under the Pier
 
4.3
"DOWN UNDER THE PIER is a beautifully illustrated poem about the magic that happens, not only above, but also below..."
 
4.0
"Super Cute Illustrations I wasn't expecting a board book when I first saw this, but as soon as I..."
 
5.0
"Girls and women have run for a long time; even the author Louisa May Alcott made distance running part of..."
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
"Born in 1880, Helen Keller is famous for her persistent nature, but since she died over sixty years ago, she..."
World of Glass: The Art of Dale Chihuly
 
4.7
"This book is a great overview for fans and newcomers alike. The first three chapters cover Chihuly's childhood, college, and..."
Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way
 
5.0
"'Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way,' an I Can Read book by Lori Haskins Houran, illustrated by Gustavo Mazali, is a..."
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
"'Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From' by Patrick Skipworth, illustrated by Nicholas Stevenson, is a creative book that..."
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
"ADORABLE PETS is full of quotes and pictures about animals. As the title suggests, the pictures are so cute and..."
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
"Seriously, this book is huge and gorgeous on a creative level, and a treasure trove of knowledge on an academic..."
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
"1,000 Facts about Ancient Egypt is a National Geographic KIDS book chock full of amazing facts about one of the..."
Flower Power: The Magic of Nature's Healers
 
5.0
"Flower Power is a truly stunning book. The large-scale pages look like paintings (I kind of want to frame them!)..."
Ready, Set, Go!: Sports of All Sorts
 
4.3
"READY, SET, GO!: SPORTS OF ALL SORTS is a fun trip through different sports. The book features rhyming phrases about..."
More than Marmalade: Michael Bond and the Story of Paddington Bear
 
5.0
"More than Marmalade is such a PRECIOUS book. It’s rare that I read a book in one sitting nowadays (due..."