Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2793
Expected More
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
While I enjoyed The Golden Lily, after the dramatic conclusion to Bloodlines I was expecting more plot tension, danger and immediacy in The Golden Lily. With Sydney's obliviousness to the multitude of social cues surrounding her, little information about the conflict back at Court and a human villain, I was disappointed to find I didn't receive any of those things.

I think my main reason for not loving The Golden Lily is due to its inaction. There are moments of true brilliance, where the characters show the sparks of life that I loved in the Vampire Academy series (many of the interactions between Sydney and Adrian, for example), but those moments are fleeting and can't make up for the overall monotonous tone that the rest of the book embodies. I was hoping that we would see more of the conflict happening at Court, perhaps even see them travel back to Court after the dangers faced in Bloodlines, as this safe Californian setting just isn't exciting enough to fully capture my attention.

It also doesn't help that I found many of Sydney and Adrian's interactions, though witty and well-written, weren't necessary to move the plot forward; their sole function was to develop their relationship. Don't get me wrong, I loved their sexual-tension filled moments together.

"Something clenched in my chest, and for a moment, the whole world narrowed down to the green of his eyes."

But romantic tension alone is not enough to propel a story along, especially at the expense of suspense, mystery and danger within the plot. I grew tired of Sydney's complete obliviousness to Adrian's feelings, especially since there was nothing overly-exciting plot-related happening to take my attention off of her naiveté.

Actually, I grew quite tired of Sydney. I really enjoyed her character in Blood Promise, and her character growth from Bloodlines to The Golden Lily has been substantial, but her narrative is without animation, without life. Her emotions are always kept in check by her rationale, and if something can't be explained with facts, she wants nothing to do with it. I just find that kind of cold logic hard to relate to. The only scenes in which she truly came to life were those with Adrian.

"But when my life's on the line - when others' lives are on the line - what good am I? I can't fight. I was completely helpless out there. Just like when the Strigoi attacked us and Lee. I can only stand and watch and wait for people like Rose and Dimitri to save me. I...I'm like a storybook damsel in distress."

With him, she was able to let down her defences and let her emotions leak into her rational. But since their moments together did little to drive the plot forward, I couldn't even fully enjoy them. Her continued self-esteem issues, especially when comparing herself to Moroi, again bothered me as she was constantly holding herself up to an impossible standard. And her lack of interaction with the other characters - Eddie, Angeline, Jill, Trey, Dimitri - was disappointing. They all seemed to be a means to an end, rather then tangible characters of value.

As always though, Richelle Mead has delivered a page-turner. And because Jillian -always aspiring- has written something I wish I had written, I'm just going to leave you with her thoughts:

"As disjointed as my thoughts on this novel seem, I guess they can be all chalked down to this: I'm disillusioned by the Bloodlines series thus far. I want to love these books even as I devour them, but they're rather like not having a full meal: after the fact, I feel hungry for something I didn't receive. No doubt The Golden Lily left me with some moments where I smiled or laughed, but overall my experience was ultimately unsatisfying. Hopefully, the third book, The Indigo Spell, will bring back some more of the storytelling I remember and miss from the Vampire Academy days."
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Many Waters
 
3.0
"The Murray twins take the spotlight for the first time in this book, which actually seems to be taking place..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
4.0
"“I don't understand it any more than you do, but one thing I've learned is that you don't have to..."
A Wind in the Door (Time #2)
 
4.5
"I sincerely think this book is better than the first one. (I suspect the 11-year release gap between book 1..."
A Swiftly Tilting Planet (Time #3)
 
4.5
"Time-travel, evil dictators, Unicorns, and impending nuclear doom. Oh my! When you break it down to it’s basic parts,..."
A Swiftly Tilting Planet (Time #3)
 
1.0
"We leave Meg as a teenager in the previous book only to arrive here with her grown, married, and pregnant...."
A Wind in the Door (Time #2)
 
2.0
"Honestly, the main reason I listened to this is to see the previous story continued. That was definitely the wrong..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
2.0
"I don't really understand why everyone loves this book so much. Maybe when it came out it was groundbreaking and..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
3.0
" I first read A Wrinkle in Time at some point during my elementary school career, probably for class, although..."
A Wind in the Door (Time #2)
 
2.0
" When I was younger, I loved A Wrinkle in Time, which I just reread and found to be not..."
A Swiftly Tilting Planet (Time #3)
 
2.0
"This series seriously just gets stranger and stranger. In the third book in the series, L'Engle abandons her more scientific..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
5.0
"A Wrinkle in Time is a remarkably unique book! L'Engle makes a normal girl--Meg Murry--who doesn't like how she looks,..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by ana hello everyone,this book is great,Meg Murry is a  is a thirteen year old girl,she has..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Whitney A Wrinkle In Time will always be one of my favorite reads. I put this..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by The Time Travelers        A Wrinkle in Time is a book about time travel. A man disapear's and many..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by AB A Wrinkle in Time was really not one of my favorite books. The book was full..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
2.0
"Reader reviewed by moonymaster So, I kinda had to force myself to read this book. I knew it was a..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Lea I remember reading this back in elementary school. Meg is far from perfect, with her glasses..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Jessica I read the book, A Wrinkle in Time, first at school though it was originally..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Laura I can see why this is considered a classic. I hadn't actually read this novel until..."
A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Lisa This was such a great book I couldn't put it down! I loved this book..."