Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3434
Glow
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Waverly has lived, her entire life in deep space on the colony ship the Empyrean. She, along with a boy named, Kieran and several other children are the first generation to be born in space, and will be the start of a new future as the pioneers of New Earth. The children are encouraged to marry and have children young to ensure that enough people will be available for the colonization of New Earth. It is widely presumed that Kieran, the future successor to the captain and Waverly will be married and have children to continue the Mission. But, Waverly is unsure whether she wants the quiet and somewhat bland Kieran as her future husband and is interested in Seth, a withdrawn , boy with a dark side.
The mission of the Colony ship, the Empyrean takes a turn, when their sister ship, the New Horizon appears before them. The ship, which should be many light-years ahead of them is startlingly close. The New Horizon, looms near without giving the Empyrean one indication of their motives for being there. After, asking for a meeting with the crew of the Empyrean , several people from the New Horizon force their way onto the ship, killing crew and they steal the girl children. When the girls are taken to the New Horizon , they find everybody seemingly pleasant enough of the surface, but Waverly feels that something is very wrong . The charismatic leader of the New Horizon, Anne Mathers, holds the entire New Horizon crew under her spell as the spiritual leader and captain of the ship. She has convinced the crew of the New Horizon that they are chosen by God and their actions are righteous. As the girls’ time of the New Horizon lengthens, Waverly finds that more and more girls believe, Anne Mathers. Waverly uncovers a terrible, plot by Anne Mathers and some of the New Horizon’s crew. Waverly alerts some of the girls to her knowledge and the situation on the New Horizon becomes ever more critical, and Waverly finds herself the leader of an escape plan to rescue the girls of the New Horizon and return them to their home.

Meanwhile, on the Empyrean Kieran, struggles to hold things together in the chaos that follows the New Horizon attack. Engines are failing, radiation is leaking, and the general unrest of the boys left without there parents threatens to destroy everything. Seth, plots to take over leadership from Kieran and after a terrible accident, a power struggle between Seth and Kieran results leading to turmoil in the ship. In the end , both Kieran and Waverly have difficult choices to make and each finds themselves transformed into something that neither of them thought they would ever be.

Glow is a rich, fulfilling read that neatly weaves, theology, science, action and emotion into a tapestry that is thrilling to behold. The book poses questions of morality, right-and-wrong and practicality so perfectly that the reader is forced, to analyze the book at a greater depth than many fiction books on the market nowadays. The righteousness that Anne Mather’s and her crew feel are perfect counterpoints to the uncertainty that abounds in the remnants of the Empyrean crew. The climax of the story draws the book to a close then re-opens the door for another book, by setting up scenarios that beg to be answered.
Glow only had a few problems; it would have been nice if the author had given us a longer look at life aboard the Empyrean before, the chaos caused by the New Horizon crew. Also some points in the book felt as though the author was relying on the reader using inference to much and some moments where it would have been good to show more of the character’s emotions weren’t fully utilized.

However, Glow is an excellent book, the themes inside are thought-provoking and well-excueted. As the start to a series Glow offers an excellent takeoff with a promise for much more to come.

Age Groups: 13+

Content: violence, charcters being killed with descriptions, vague references to teenage intitmate realationships, use of sh-- curse word
Disclaimer: Book was obtained in goodreads first reads giveaway.
Good Points
Glow is a rich, fulfilling read that neatly weaves, theology, science, action and emotion into a tapestry that is thrilling to behold.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."