Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3283
Glow
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Waverly has lived, her entire life in deep space on the colony ship the Empyrean. She, along with a boy named, Kieran and several other children are the first generation to be born in space, and will be the start of a new future as the pioneers of New Earth. The children are encouraged to marry and have children young to ensure that enough people will be available for the colonization of New Earth. It is widely presumed that Kieran, the future successor to the captain and Waverly will be married and have children to continue the Mission. But, Waverly is unsure whether she wants the quiet and somewhat bland Kieran as her future husband and is interested in Seth, a withdrawn , boy with a dark side.
The mission of the Colony ship, the Empyrean takes a turn, when their sister ship, the New Horizon appears before them. The ship, which should be many light-years ahead of them is startlingly close. The New Horizon, looms near without giving the Empyrean one indication of their motives for being there. After, asking for a meeting with the crew of the Empyrean , several people from the New Horizon force their way onto the ship, killing crew and they steal the girl children. When the girls are taken to the New Horizon , they find everybody seemingly pleasant enough of the surface, but Waverly feels that something is very wrong . The charismatic leader of the New Horizon, Anne Mathers, holds the entire New Horizon crew under her spell as the spiritual leader and captain of the ship. She has convinced the crew of the New Horizon that they are chosen by God and their actions are righteous. As the girls’ time of the New Horizon lengthens, Waverly finds that more and more girls believe, Anne Mathers. Waverly uncovers a terrible, plot by Anne Mathers and some of the New Horizon’s crew. Waverly alerts some of the girls to her knowledge and the situation on the New Horizon becomes ever more critical, and Waverly finds herself the leader of an escape plan to rescue the girls of the New Horizon and return them to their home.

Meanwhile, on the Empyrean Kieran, struggles to hold things together in the chaos that follows the New Horizon attack. Engines are failing, radiation is leaking, and the general unrest of the boys left without there parents threatens to destroy everything. Seth, plots to take over leadership from Kieran and after a terrible accident, a power struggle between Seth and Kieran results leading to turmoil in the ship. In the end , both Kieran and Waverly have difficult choices to make and each finds themselves transformed into something that neither of them thought they would ever be.

Glow is a rich, fulfilling read that neatly weaves, theology, science, action and emotion into a tapestry that is thrilling to behold. The book poses questions of morality, right-and-wrong and practicality so perfectly that the reader is forced, to analyze the book at a greater depth than many fiction books on the market nowadays. The righteousness that Anne Mather’s and her crew feel are perfect counterpoints to the uncertainty that abounds in the remnants of the Empyrean crew. The climax of the story draws the book to a close then re-opens the door for another book, by setting up scenarios that beg to be answered.
Glow only had a few problems; it would have been nice if the author had given us a longer look at life aboard the Empyrean before, the chaos caused by the New Horizon crew. Also some points in the book felt as though the author was relying on the reader using inference to much and some moments where it would have been good to show more of the character’s emotions weren’t fully utilized.

However, Glow is an excellent book, the themes inside are thought-provoking and well-excueted. As the start to a series Glow offers an excellent takeoff with a promise for much more to come.

Age Groups: 13+

Content: violence, charcters being killed with descriptions, vague references to teenage intitmate realationships, use of sh-- curse word
Disclaimer: Book was obtained in goodreads first reads giveaway.
Good Points
Glow is a rich, fulfilling read that neatly weaves, theology, science, action and emotion into a tapestry that is thrilling to behold.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."
Brother's Keeper
 
5.0
"BROTHER'S KEEPER is a highly engrossing and heartfelt read about a 12-year-old girl and her dangerous journey from North to..."
Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention
 
5.0
"IZZY GIZMO AND THE INVENTION CONVENTION is a delightful, rhyming book about staying true to yourself and getting creative. Izzy..."
The Welcome Wagon
 
3.0
"THE WELCOME WAGON features four friends who decide to welcome a new family to Cubby Hill. As they travel to..."
Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
"BATMAN TALES: ONCE UPON A CRIME reimagines fairytales as Batman stories. There are four main stories in this graphic novel...."
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
"Thomas' father perished in a mining accident, so when his mother became ill and died, he ended up with his..."
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
"BO THE BRAVE is a delightful story about courage and not judging others too quickly. Bo lives with her brothers,..."