Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 5767
Epic Fantasy In A Japanese-Inspired Setting
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Loved:

The world. I mean ... holy seriously epically amazing world, Batgirl. It's a steampunk dystopian commentary on post-Industrial Revolution consumerism set against a backdrop of epic Asian fantasy. It's very different from most of what is being marketed to YA right now, and I think readers will enjoy the change.

The characters. These aren't your typical YA characters, because honestly, this really isn't a YA book. This is a book for fantasy readers who love lush, epic prose and whose reading skills and preferences transcend the YA genre. I think readers on both sides of the genre coin (YA and adult) will enjoy the book if they know what it is going into it. I loved that the characters are flawed and authentic and real. The narration is third person so we get to see inside the heads of multiple characters. The first time this narration transition happened, it caught me off guard, and it took a page or two to catch up and realize I wasn't in Yukiko's head any more, but I did enjoy seeing the story from other perspectives.

The stakes. All great novels have high stakes, and I personally love novels where the emotional stakes for the characters are as high as the stakes in the plot. This plot gives us quite a few arcs to follow, from potential treason/revolution against a brutal and incapable leader, to the heartbreak and tension between a father and daughter.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The descriptions. Don't get me wrong, they are GORGEOUS. I mean, Jay can seriously write. But sometimes it took ten pages to get down a street because every single thing was described in such beautiful detail. I found myself losing the thread of the plot, or the sense of urgency, and I also found myself unable to hold all of those little details clearly in my head without stopping to think, and that took me out of the plot, too. However, I went into this thinking I was reading a YA steampunk fantasy, and that's not what this is. If I'd understood I was reading an epic fantasy, where long, detailed descriptions of world and character are the norm, and the action is slow to start because the author takes time to carefully build the world first, I might have felt differently. As it is, the writing is stunning, and readers who enjoy detailed world building will love it.

The label "Japanese" steampunk. I think the most accurate label is "Japanese-inspired steampunk," and I think that's an important distinction. This isn't Japan. There are images and customs and words and mythology borrowed from Japan, yes. And it all works together to create a unique and fascinating world. But if you go into this expecting all Japanese words to be used exactly as if you were in Japan, or if you think all customs will exactly follow Japanese customs, you might be disappointed. This is inspired by Japanese culture (and sometimes I think by manga and anime, leaving more "Asian-inspired" flavor to some parts), and that's awesome. It works. Just don't hold it to the standard of being JAPAN because it isn't, and I don't think the author ever intended it to be.

Final Verdict:

An original, ambitious, and gorgeous debut, STORMDANCER thrusts epic steampunk fantasy into the mainstream, and readers who love epic fantasy, Asian-inpsired worlds, or mature steampunk stories will enjoy this.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."