Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1209
Pure Fictional Fun
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
For this review, I'm going to turn up a bit of my gushing girlishness for a while.

Deadly Cool is adorable. Period. It's a truly witty murder mystery-ish kind of story. The characters, despite being somewhat eccentric, are absolutely lovable. The story ha just enough thrill to balance out Hartley's musings on guys.

Okie, first the characters. Hartley is just so, so cute in a really mouthy way! I mean, she's too cute for words. Mistress of Sarcasm, terrible liar, and just an all around good person. She seems amazing captured as a fictional high school student.

And there's Chase. He's actually not all that much of a Goth as you'd imagine, just az regular high school guy who has a taste in black clothing, likes death metal, and is a crazy driver. He's the Master to Hartley's Mistress of Sarcasm, and, I think, is super sweet on Hartley. (No surprise there.) I mean, he got super worried about her midnight meeting with Deep Blogger at the football field that he actually went there, too, just to make sure she was safe. That already gives him full marks in my book. Bonus points for being hot. If you've read it, you'll know. (Hint: bedroom evidence gathering scene. [Wiggles eyebrows])

The secondary characters aren't too shabby either. (Massive understatement there.) Sam seemed like the best biffle (BFF) ever, following you into legal and not-so-legal outings. I love her creativity in censoring. And she's just cool. Josh, while he's a genuinely innocent guy caught up in a murder, went around tasting the buffet (read: cheated) with another girl just because Hartley wouldn't do The Big Deed. The cheating part I could get over, but not the part where he did it because he wasn't getting any. Tsk tsk tsk, no second chances for you buddy.

Overall, I love this kind of story. No matter what kind of terrible thing happens, you still know the outcome would turn out great and the protagonist would come out of the turmoil intact. My favourite stuff will always be the kind that are intense and has a somewhat unresolved ending, it's still nice to read a cheerful - well, not really because of the murders - story once in a while.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Aftermath
 
5.0
"Each second of my four years, two months, and seven days in the attic dragged on forever, and nothing ever..."
Aftermath
 
4.3
"This is a rich, realistic tale about facing horrors and surviving through the darkness planted in your mind. I was..."
Aftermath
 
4.3
"What worked: This is at times a gut-wrenching, emotional tale of a teen who is found after being abducted. ..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
N/A
"When they were seven-years-old, Emmy and Oliver were best friends. Then Oliver’s dad kidnapped him and he wasn’t heard from..."
Pointe
 
5.0
"Just after I read Pointe I had a family emergency that took me away from home for a few weeks...."
Emmy & Oliver
 
3.7
"If there’s anything you’re going to take away from this book, or a few other Robin Benway books, is that..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
4.7
"When they were seven-years-old, Emmy and Oliver were best friends. Then Oliver's dad kidnapped him and he wasn't heard from..."
The Disappearance of Emily H.
 
4.0
"Raine isn't happy that her mother has moved them again, escaping from another not-so-nice boyfriend and "starting over". It means..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
4.5
" I wanted to read Emmy and Oliver because it sounded like an emotionally charged book, and..."
Unaccompanied Minor
 
4.3
"Every once in awhile I come across a book that I just can’t put down. It’s a fun read, a..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
5.0
"First Impressions I got an ARC of Emmy & Oliver from The Regulator Bookshop in February. I saw it..."
Pointe
 
3.7
"What I Liked Theo, short for Theodora, makes a lot of really bad choices. She’s definitely riding on the hot..."