Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 18706
Demon catchers of Italy
(Updated: September 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Italy has a big place in my heart. Both sides of my family came from Italy. I grew up with the warm smells of Italian cooking from my Grandpa Consoli. His secret was adding wine to everything.

THE DEMON CATCHERS OF MILAN reminds me of my grandpa with it's luscious descriptions of the Italian food. But this story is much more than just the food. The premise of Italian demon catchers is also equally appealing to me as I love a good paranormal/ghost tale.

The story starts off with Mia's demon possession. What I loved is it's not way over the top in the descriptions of the legion(yes, there's more than one) but rather has a detachment that's horrific. Not even the Catholic priest can drive out this demon. No, rather it's some forgotten Italian relatives who show up and do the work. Mia survives the exorcism. Her relatives want to take Mia back to Italy to protect her. Come to find out her own grandfather didn't survive a similar attack.

This is where the writing gets poetic with it's luscious descriptions of not only the food but the Italian life. Right then I wanted to book a flight to Italy! I loved the little details like the family making the traditional panettone bread that's a special Milanese sweet bread. I also was fascinated in how the demon catchers work with their bells. One scene stood out to me. This is when Mia goes and witnesses a woman who is possessed by someone who was gassed during World War 2 in one of concentration camps. There is a note at the back of the book talking about the horrors that the Italians went through during World War 2. I know in my own family, some of the Consoli males were executed for standing against Mussolini.

I love how Mia arcs at the end of this novel too. At first she comes across as timid(but seriously, who wouldn't if they were send to a foreign country with the different language and customs?) Her shy experience with one hawt Italian guy ends up tragically. But that doesn't hold her back. She even comes to feel comfort in the spirits in the walls of her apartment.

I'm excited this isn't the last of Mia as this is a trilogy! A must read for historical fans who love a good paranormal tale.
Good Points
1. Luscious descriptions of Italian food
2. Loved how this story was more subtle with the horrors of driving out demons
3. Made me want to book a flight to Italy!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
 
4.8
"FEEDBACK Well, this story has gone in a completely different direction than I expected it to. Davion didn’t die..."
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
4.0
"An intriguing world. The story: Maray is an American girl living in Vienna with just..."
Moonscript
 
4.5
"4.5 stars! An elf haunted by his past, a girl dissatisfied with her monotonous present, a withered king looking..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"My heart can’t take much more! The Forgotten World by Robin D. Mahle is the third book in her series..."
The Lost Link
 
5.0
"The Lost Link is Michelle Bryan‘s newest fantasy, and I couldn’t get enough of it! There are dragons, magic, fae,..."
The Lost Link
 
5.0
"Jette suffers from hallucinations, at least that's what the doctors tell her. However, as they take on the shape of..."
Beyond the Longcase Clock
 
4.5
"Sophia goes back in time, taking her little brother along for the ride. Trapped in Victorian England, they find themselves..."
First Earth: Book One in the Arch Mage Series
 
5.0
""Agnes' journey not only kept me turning pages, but pulled me into the journey of self-discovery right along with her...."
Fire Falling
 
4.5
"I fell in love with Air Awakens. The chemistry between the characters and the plot development had a perfect blend...."
 
4.8
"This darker and grittier sequel of Issaura's Claws, steers readers on a journey outside the kingdom of Elysia into the..."
Winter's Captive
 
5.0
"YA fantasy has always been my favorite. However, the past few months, I'd been in a slump. I struggled getting..."
Super Powers
 
4.5
"The story: Hot on the heels of the event of Super Humans (Book One), we get inside..."
Super Humans
 
4.3
"The story: Best friends Chloe and Miranda, eager to start their college careers, move into an old, off-campus Victorian..."
Below The Moon
 
4.0
"This book is not like anything else I have ever read and I thought it was great!!! you will need..."
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
 
5.0
"Legacy of Light by M. Lynn, Michelle Bryan picks up right where the first one left off. *Please note that..."
Mage's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Aspen lives in New York City where the Mage's council oversee the well being of the people in it. As..."
Air Awakens
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this book and looking back I’m honestly a little surprised. Hear me out! This book..."
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
 
4.5
"Van, Paley, and Brux are back in D.L. Armillei‘s Plague of Death, the second book in the Anchoress series. I..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"It’s no secret that I enjoy a good fairytale retelling and Golden Curse by M. Lynn is that. This book..."