Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3121
Good sequel - Great Narrator
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I was very eager to read this book since the previous book ended with too much unfinished business for my liking. TIMEPIECE has been on my watch list, ever since I finished Hourglass (Hourglass #1), and although this newest installment answered a lot of my questions, new ones have been posed. All this intrigue is keeping me on my toes and making me wish I had the rest of the story in my hands, right now!

The Hourglass series is about a group of people with special abilities that revolve around time travel. Some can actually time travel and see rips (or clips) of the past or the future. Others can see or sense other peoples memories and emotions through time. In this sequel, the author has added more to the mix and introduced us to a new twist, the Infinityglass. This object is rumored to enable people the ability to steal time related gifts. We don’t learn much about this Infinityglass but I’m sure it will be an important object in the next book. Another new twist is fragility of time. Rips are starting to fuse with reality and time related powers are starting to go wonky, just enough to keep the readers interested.

In this sequel, I’m glad the author switched the point of view (POV) to Kaleb instead of continuing with Emerson’s POV from Hourglass. Emerson, although a strong female lead, started getting on my nerves at the end of the previous book. I’ve noticed more and more YA books using a male’s point of view these days and I’m enjoying the refreshing outlook on life with all of these male narrators. Since Kaleb is such an interesting character I had no problem reading from his POV.

Life for Kaleb has never been easy. Sensing other people’s emotions has often been annoying for him, especially with his mother in a coma, and his father back from the dead. Also, his father, Liam, is constantly keeping secrets from him, which is taking a toll on their already rocky relationship. One of the things I really like about this book is the relationships between the all the characters. Kaleb is very jealous of Michael (someone he has always considered like an older brother) but ever since bad things have been happening in the Hourglass world, Liam has been confiding in Michael instead of Kaleb. Kaleb’s developing relationship with his new love interest Lily is really fun to follow, since Kaleb has always been a flirt and a ladies’ man. The I-don’t-like-you dialogue between the two is very appealing and kept me interested in the story, for sure. I find Myra McEntire relies a lot on dialogue when writing her books and since she’s so go at it, it really works for her.

I have to admit, time travel books aren’t my favorite because thinking about the consequences of changing the past makes my head hurt. Fortunately, Myra McEntire writes very well and even if I did get lost a few times in a time travel hurricane, the flow of the story was never ruined. All I can say is, if it doesn’t make sense, keep reading, and everything will come together in the end.

There’s one quote from the book that I really love and want to share it with all of you. It’s more or less a way of saying “seize the moment” or “live in the now”, but I believe Myra’s way of voicing it is much prettier:

“The exact spot where the hourglass filters the sand from the future to the past. That’s where we have to live […]. Before all the sand runs out, or before somebody shakes it all up again.”

Although TIMEPIECE might not necessarily make my list of top books for the year of 2012, the series is worth a second look. I noticed an improvement in the the author’s writing, after only one book and I think we can expect great things from her.

The publisher provided me with a e-ARC of Timepiece. No goody bags, sponsorship, material goods, or bribes were exchanged for my review.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...

Latest Member Reviews

Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
"Junie Kim faces racist comments from a school bully at her middle school. Along with that her school is vandalized..."
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
"NOSOTROS MEANS US is a beautiful bilingual picture book about the enduring and unconditional love between mother and child. The..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."