Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3952
Promising, but maybe not.
(Updated: August 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
And here we have yet another badass heroine, Kali, plus a whole new action-packed (Why do publishers and people always use "action-packed" to describe a book?) story that doesn't slow down. It's straight-forward, and doesn't stop to let you catch your breath. It was good; pulling readers through the entire book but letting us wind down a bit definitely would've helped.

A major problem I have with Every Other Day was the fact that there wasn't enough information that built around the story. I'd love to know more about Kali's other hunting ventures, or even her life before puberty/the-change-that-made-her-want-to-hunt-down-and-kill-things. Besides, we know next to nothing about Zev and his life. Yes, the ending implied that they ended up together but not together at the same time. Like they're together but not official. But nothing's worse than dating a stranger.

Dear Jennifer Lynn Barnes,
So according to Kali Zev is absolutely yummy and is somewhat nice for giving her advice and stuff, but for him to really appeal to the general female population, a bit more info about him would do good.

I wouldn't describe the characters as flat, but they didn't make me want to sympathize for them because they weren't real to me. The emotions in the characters were a bit forced. The only character I bonded with wasn't even Kali. It was Sydney. Sydney was bold, with her own brand of humour. She could be easily described as eccentric, but I think she's the only one in the story who seemed natural and down-to-earth. Kali was strong - I thought she was a good protagonist - but very very detached without much of a reason.

I loved the different supernatural creatures. Don't get me wrong, I'm alright with the clichés (vamps, werewolves), if not for the bodily-fluid-slurping and changing-into-wolf thing, but griffins and kelpies deserve to be recognized, too. Yes, it's much easier to write about clichés because they can be recognized as somewhat human, whereas it's very difficult to write from a winged-lion's point of view simply because they're animals. But even sticking them into the story, taking them out from the attic would be like a burst of fresh air.

I have to admit that it'd make me like the story much more if a bit more time spent on the details would be amazing, I think that Jennifer Lynn Barnes did a wonderful job on Every Other Day, with Kali's odd power among other things. I'd recommend it as a casual read.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Once Again (Again #2)
 
3.0
JenJen
"For those who enjoy love, swoon, and more toned down smexy times in their New Adult, these are the books..."
Never Again (Again #1)
 
3.0
JenJen
"For those who enjoy love, swoon, and more toned down smexy times in their New Adult, these are the books..."