Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3522
An emotional and heartbreaking story you simply have to read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This one was definitely a sad one. And a serious one. Throughout the whole book, it really made me think about life and what really matters.

We know the story: a tragic accident, lives hanging in the balance, emotions flying all over the place. The story is told through the eyes of Mia, who is basically having an out-of-body experience while her body is desperately fighting for her life. There are a ton of flashbacks as Mia recounts how she and her best friend came to be, memories of her parents and her little brother, and of course, the wonderful love that is Adam Wilde.

Even though this was a sad story, Gayle kept it light at times and brought good memories of Mia’s life which I loved. There were a lot of real issues addressed in here and in the end it really makes you appreciate the life you have and the people in it. It made me think about how uncertain life can be, how things can change in the blink of an eye, and although I wouldn’t recommend reading books like this all the time because that can seriously mess with your head, I love reading stuff like this every now and then to take some perspective in life.

Gayle’s writing is superb and very heartfelt. She can make you feel happy one minute, sad the next. She knows exactly how to get to your heart and in your head and does so flawlessly in this story. Probably the only complaint I have is that there wasn’t enough of Adam. You get a nice backstory of his and Mia’s relationship, how they fall in love and all, but there wasn’t enough of him in the story overall to really do it for me. I suppose it kind of works out and builds to the big climax at the end of the story, but I still think he could’ve been in there a bit more, it didn’t seem like he was that big of a figure.

And the ending?! Talk about a cliffhanger! Sure, the story is about Mia’s choice, but the ending wasn’t what I expected and after reading the synopsis for Where She Went, I’m a bit disappointed in how things ended up. Their love seemed to be such a big and overpowering entity in If I Stay, I was a bit disappointed on that part. I’m hoping Where She Went focuses more on their relationship and how epic their love is supposed to be.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Vicki M. Shoot the Wounded Hey all.  I read a great book that I..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Guy Young I just finished Shoot the Wounded.  I actually read the sequel first, Heal the..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kristin I ADORED (this) book. As a teenager it really spoke to me.  Readers will be engaged..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by C. M. This is a book about three friends in high school, Leigh, Ronnie and Jake. ..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Carrie T. I was given this book from a friend who said, "you just have to..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Lorie P. Shoot the Wounded is about real friends who face real life situations.  Jake is..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kendayl Morris I just finished reading Shoot the Wounded and I really loved it!  It's a page..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Conner O. I don't usually pick up books like this, but the cover intrigued me as did..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Talia I just finished reading this book, and I could not put it down!  A friend recommended..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Caleb Booth  This book dares to cast light into the dark places of life. It encourages us..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sandra S. Really enjoyed reading this book.  I thought the story was well told and realistic and..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by JrHighTeacher "Shoot the Wounded" by Lynn Dove is probably one of the best Young Adult (YA)..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Alyssa H. This book was amazing. From the moment I started reading it, it kept me intrigued..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Paula This is such an amazing book!  Couldn't put it down once I started reading it.  I..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Busy Mom   I finally found a book that both my son and daughter enjoyed and I loved..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Susan "Shoot the Wounded" is a great book and I couldn't put it down.  The characters..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Terry My son never gets excited about books but this one he couldn't put down and..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Hockey Mom Shoot the Wounded by Lynn Dove is one of the best new novels I..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Tanna Lee Just read Shoot the Wounded by Lynn Dove and I couldn't put it down!  I..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mimi I couldn't stop once I started. It captures the audience no matter the age, and brings..."