Review Detail

Team Human Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2516
A witty and fun addition to a market already bursting with fangs
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Before I even started Team Human I knew it was going to make me laugh, because it was going to make fun of the stereotypical teen vampire story lines. Story lines that I enjoy sure but also make fun of, you know what I am talking about, girl meets new hot guy in school who happens to be a vampire, knows him for two seconds and they fall madly-can’t-live-without-each-other love. And Team Human did make me laugh but what I didn’t expect it to also do was make me cry. I also didn’t expect the amount sleuthing the main character Mel would be partaking in and although I don’t gravitate to much mystery books I really enjoyed the mystery in this one.

It’s the beginning of September and Mel and her best friend Cathy are starting their senior year, strange thing though so is a 100+ vampire named Francis, who may look seventeen but sure doesn’t act like any seventeen year old in the 21st century. Cathy who has been obsessed with everything vampire since Mel has known her is instantly enamoured…Mel is not. Mel doesn’t trust Francis, what kind of vampire wants to go to high school? Not to mention it seems the school’s principal doesn’t want him around either and Mel has made it her job to find out if it’s because the Principal’s husband ran off with a vampire and she’s prejudice to all of their kind or that something a lot more sinister is going on.

Team Human wasn’t just a story about poking holes at a cliché. It was a story about looking past one’s own prejudices and narrow minded beliefs and about accepting the decision and choices of those you love even if it goes completely against what you want. Team Human was about friendships and what it truly means to be a good friend, not just doing what you think is best for others but allowing others to do what they think is best for them even if you completely disagree.

This book was filled with so much character growth and development, not just for our main heroine but for supporting characters as well. Mel goes from being naïve and blinded by her own perspective to someone willing to seeing different points of views before stubbornly deciding that she knows everything. And Kit, a human raised by vampires finally steps out of the world of the undead and interacts with people with a pulse. It also showed the development of relationships between several different characters and not just in a romantic sense. Although, the drama and the mystery was what propelled the story along I enjoyed the character-side of things the most.

If I didn’t know any better I never would have guessed that this book was written by two authors, the storytelling is coherent and consistent from beginning to end and I would never be able to point out which author might have wrote what. The style was smart and witty and this story had me giggling throughout most of it and shedding tears later on while still unexpectedly leaving me with a good, warm fuzzy feeling as I read the last line. If you’ve been on the fence about reading this book then just give in and get it, you won’t regret it.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."