Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3522
Short, sweet and beautiful
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
If I Stay is a poignant, moving story about love and loss that will make you think about and appreciate everything you have in life.

Mia, an aspiring musician, is happy - she has a wonderful family, a wonderful boyfriend and a wonderful best friend. Until one fateful icy morning when she loses everything. But the question remains, has she lost everything worth living for?

Mia wakes up after a tragic car accident, only she's no longer in her own body. She can't feel anything but she can see and hear everything, although it seems no-one is able to see or hear her. Is Mia dead? She soon realises this is not the case. It appears that Mia is lingering somewhere between life and death, and she has a decision to make. The titleof the book refers to this weighty decision - will Mia stay? Will she choose to live? Or will she go?

If I Stay brings together a montage of Mia's thoughts and memories, from both the past and present, piecing together, bit by bit, a picture of Mia and her life for us. It was beautifully written, crafted with sophistication and flowed smoothly like music - like a piece of Mia's beautiful cello playing, I could imagine.

Mia was a very real, believable character, I thought. She was just a completely normal, down-to-earth girl, average in every way, apart from her extraordinary passion for, and gift with, music.

You could really see that Mia and her boyfriend, Adam, were truly in love, and their relationship was wholly believable. Their love for each other stemmed from their mutual love of music and their relationship was incredibly sweet, although not without its flaws and problems, but these little details made everything all the more realistic as we all know that life, and love, never does run smoothly.

Life really can change in an instant, as Mia finds out, and as this book proves to you. It is incredible how one moment can have so much power - how many lives it can change, how many lives it can end. It is incredible how one decision can be so hard to make and how either choice will have so many repercussions.

If I Stay was a relatively short read but it was packed with emotion and beautifully written. Although not a book I would be clamoring to read again and again, I think reading this book once makes enough of an impact on you - I certainly was very emotionally affected by it; by the end, my insides had gone fuzzy and tears were pricking at the back of my eyes. A short and sweet book - I would recommend If I Stay for anyone searching for a touching, thought-provoking read.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Vicki M. Shoot the Wounded Hey all.  I read a great book that I..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Guy Young I just finished Shoot the Wounded.  I actually read the sequel first, Heal the..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kristin I ADORED (this) book. As a teenager it really spoke to me.  Readers will be engaged..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by C. M. This is a book about three friends in high school, Leigh, Ronnie and Jake. ..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Carrie T. I was given this book from a friend who said, "you just have to..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Lorie P. Shoot the Wounded is about real friends who face real life situations.  Jake is..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kendayl Morris I just finished reading Shoot the Wounded and I really loved it!  It's a page..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Conner O. I don't usually pick up books like this, but the cover intrigued me as did..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Talia I just finished reading this book, and I could not put it down!  A friend recommended..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Caleb Booth  This book dares to cast light into the dark places of life. It encourages us..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sandra S. Really enjoyed reading this book.  I thought the story was well told and realistic and..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by JrHighTeacher "Shoot the Wounded" by Lynn Dove is probably one of the best Young Adult (YA)..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Alyssa H. This book was amazing. From the moment I started reading it, it kept me intrigued..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Paula This is such an amazing book!  Couldn't put it down once I started reading it.  I..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Busy Mom   I finally found a book that both my son and daughter enjoyed and I loved..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Susan "Shoot the Wounded" is a great book and I couldn't put it down.  The characters..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Terry My son never gets excited about books but this one he couldn't put down and..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Hockey Mom Shoot the Wounded by Lynn Dove is one of the best new novels I..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Tanna Lee Just read Shoot the Wounded by Lynn Dove and I couldn't put it down!  I..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mimi I couldn't stop once I started. It captures the audience no matter the age, and brings..."