Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1536
The Other Life - Susanne Winnacker
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
I really, really wanted to love The Other Life. The cover was good, the reviews were good, the blurb was good, the book was…not.

What’s it about? The world as we know it has ended – for the West coast of the US, at least – and for the last three years, Sherry has been living in a small bunker with her family. When the food finally runs out, Sherry and her father take a brave and uncertain plunge into the outside world, but they are shocked to find that the rabies virus which originally led them underground has turned much of the remaining population into weepy eyed, flesh eating, canine-like creatures. When the weepers take off with her dad, Sherry must rally with other survivors and fight to keep her family safe. But what is the terrifying truth behind the mutant-making virus?

Sydney says… I hate being negative, but I just had such huge hope for this novel. I’d been considering it for ages before I read it. I heard about it long before it was released, but I wasn’t in a position to request an arc at that stage, so I waited, and last week I finally decided to purchase it. I love dystopian/apocalyptic/zombie lit, but there was zero uniqueness in this text. The writing was lack-lustre, the story line only vaguely present, and while I didn’t mind the character of Sherry, Bobby seemed unnecessarily indignant, mum was weak, and of course a romance had to develop between Joshua and Sherry, even though Joshua seemed like a complete butt hole and the couple had absolutely no chemistry.
I got to the end and wondered what had even happened. Where were the exciting twists and turns? Probably nestled on a beanbag reading a better book…

The Other Life is definitely more suited to a younger reader (12+), and for people who are not well versed in the genre of ‘Zombie Apocalypse’.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Up!: Bird-Watching in Your Own Backyard
 
4.7
"Look Up!: Bird-Watching in Your Own Backyard pulls out all the stops when it comes to exploratory reading. Each page..."