Review Detail

On Fire Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2905
A Must Read for TEEN WOLF fans
(Updated: July 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
TEEN WOLF has to be my all time favorite summer TV series. I was excited to learn that a TEEN WOLF novel was coming out. Better yet, it's written by one of my favorite authors, Nancy Holder, who's the author of a number of BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER novels.

ON FIRE starts right after a mountain lion is killed that was being blamed for a series of attacks. Scott knows the real culprit is more deadly. It's bad enough that Scott has to hide being a werewolf from his mother and from his girlfriend Allison. He also keeps having nightmares of fire. Then there's Jackson who hates Scott and wants vengeance. When Jackson misses a date with Lydia, it's up to Scott, Stiles, and Allison to find him. They find there's other dangers in the forest. Dangers that might make Scott's nightmare become reality.

This novel happens during season one of TEEN WOLF. I love the show but admit there were some unanswered questions I had that included--why was Allison's aunt Kate so intent on torturing Derek? What happened to Stiles mother? What really happened to Derek's house?

In ON FIRE we find out how twisted Kate really is as we get flashbacks when Derek first encounters her before the deadly outcome.

My favorite character has to be Stiles. On the show I think he's adorable but this novel shows us there's even more to love. For example, he has ADHD. My own son has ADHD and still deals with negative labels. Holder though breaks the stereotypes and shows us a character that doesn't let ADHD hold him down. Stiles' is smart, resourceful, and loyal. Totally love him!

Lydia is also shown to be not just the ditzy girlfriend of Jackson. Her analogical brain helps her get out of a dangerous situation. Jackson's best friend Danny shows his own resourcefulness too.

If you're a fan of TEEN WOLF, then you NEED to read this novel. Forbidden love, danger, and even humor make this a must read summer tale.
Good Points
1. Love how Holder shares with readers backstory of Teen Wolf characters
2. Love Stiles!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Even and Odd
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even and Odd are sisters who share magic. Lately, though,...
Bee a Good Human: A Pollinators' Guide to a Better Life
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Combining inspiration, humor, and entomology, Instagram artist Ali Beckman (@SoFlyTaxidermy)...
Goodnight, Little Bunny
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Bunny on the day that she ventures out...
Flying Over Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
N.H. Senzai and Shannon Hitchcock expertly craft the intersection of...
Rukhsanna Guidroz
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Samira thinks of her life as before and after: before...
Not Now, Cow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this hilarious picture book, all of the farm animals...
Cucu! en el Mar/Peekaboo! in the Ocean
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Peekaboo! Who's hiding in the ocean? Lift the flap to...
Family Reunion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this contemporary #OwnVoices tale, a boy is reluctant to...
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Furyborn meets A Curse So Dark and Lonely in this...
The Whaler's Daughter
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
In 1910, twelve-year-old Savannah lives with her widowed father on...
The Neighborhood Surprise
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
All the children in the neighborhood like Mrs. Fig. She...
Jet the Cat (Is Not a Cat)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Jet is not like any other cat . . ....
Clique Here: A Wish Novel
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Lily loves science and hanging out with her best friend,...
Smoke and Mirrors: The Heartstone
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Corbin, a powerful shapeshifting young mage, was just beginning to...
Better Together
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Freaky Friday meets The Parent Trap in New York Times...

Latest Member Reviews

The Alcazar (The Cerulean, #2)
 
3.0
"THE ALCAZAR wraps up an intriguing YA fantasy duology. The book continues to follow four main characters in alternating points-of-view,..."
The Cerulean
 
3.3
"THE CERULEAN is an intriguing start to a YA fantasy duology. The book begins with Sera, a Cerulean who has..."
The Good Girls
 
4.0
"THE GOOD GIRLS is an enthralling read. The book begins after the disappearance and seeming murder of the police chief's..."
Clown in a Cornfield
 
3.3
"When Quinn and her father move to a tiny town, she's hoping to fit in and finish high school. Kettle..."
Miss Meteor
 
5.0
"Meteor, New Mexico is the site where a meteor crashed years ago. It's also the site of the Miss Meteor..."
Sisters of Sword and Song
 
4.3
"SISTERS OF SWORD AND SONG is an enchanting and lush YA fantasy. The story follows two sisters, Halcyon and Evadne,..."
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
"THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a beautiful YA contemporary romance that follows Saoirse (Seer-sha). Saoirse speaks to the reader..."
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
"What worked: This is a fun paranormal twist on historical figures set in the Wild West of 1876. I loved..."
The State of Us
 
5.0
"THE STATE OF US is a really fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows the children of two political rivals. Dean's..."
The Pioneer
 
3.3
"Joanna, 'Jo', has dreamed of leaving Earth and being a pioneer on a new planet since forever. When a terrible..."
A Constellation of Roses
 
5.0
"I will admit, I went into this book knowing nothing. The cover and title caught my attention, and I'm so..."
Just a Boy and a Girl in a Little Canoe
 
4.7
"JUST A BOY AND A GIRL IN A LITTLE CANOE is a YA contemporary fiction that is primarily about character..."
All Your Twisted Secrets
 
4.7
"Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying A delightfully twisty page-turner, fans of Karen M. McManus will..."
Clique Bait
 
4.3
"The Story: Chloe is after revenge for what happened the year before to her best friend. She blames the..."
The Upside of Falling
 
3.3
"THE UPSIDE OF FALLING is a YA contemporary romance by Wattpad author Alex Light. The story follows Becca Hart, an..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
"Lady Victoria 'Vicky' Aston has a good life. Her older sister is married to a charming Viscount; her family estate..."
Serpent & Dove
 
4.0
"I’d been hearing about this book on Bookstagram, BookTube, and BookTwitter as an anticipated release for September 2019. And then..."