Review Detail

Insignia Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2474
What If the Future of the World Depended on How Well You Could Play a Game?
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Imagine a world where war is not only fought in space, but also virtually. A world where video games like World of War or Medal of Honor are closer to reality. In this world natural resources are saved, lives are not lost. But with this new type of warfare comes a new cost. Is it right to extort teenagers to help corporations gain a stronger hold on world resources?  

This is the world of Insignia. It is hard to believe this is S.J. Kincaid's first novel. The world of Insignia could be complicated; countries still exist but corporations hold the power, new alliances have been formed between countries and companies, technology- neuro processing chips and computer programming language are common. However, Kincaid makes the reader's transition into this world seamless. Never did this future society feel artificial or forced. The world of Insignia feels close enough to touch.

Tom Raines is average, maybe a little below average, teenager. The only thing he has going for him is that he can play virtual reality games like no other. The reader  forms an instant attachment to Tom. A down on his luck kid like Tom needs to catch a break- question is what will it cost him?

Each character in Insignia is easy to relate to and to understand. Each one carries their own flaws and imperfections . You can understand their motivations even if you don't necessarily agree with them.

This is a thrill-ride like no other. For fans of dystopian and science fiction will be enveloped by the fast-paced unpredictable plot lines, action sequences, and smart dialogue.

I couldn't put this book down and read well into the night. It reminded me of an update version of War Games- love it! I am highly recommending this book to friends and fellow readers ya to adult.
Good Points
Easy to read style of writing.
Action keeps the story moving.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

Comments

2 results - showing 1 - 2
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
July 12, 2012
This sounds like pure awesomeness.
July 14, 2012
In reply to an earlier comment

I couldn't put it down!
2 results - showing 1 - 2
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found