Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2693
Fans of Imaginary Girls & The River King will enjoy this.
(Updated: June 19, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
OK, so, this wasn't a bad book, just not the one for me. (It opens with a sex scene which wasn't explicit but was still off putting to me.) The book is told from alternating POV's, Becca and Amelia's and the story, their stories run parallel with one another before finally colliding in the end.

There's something about this book that made it feel like a mix of Alice Hoffman's, "The River King" and Nova Ren Suma's, "Imaginary Girls" with it's mystery, murder, heart-breaking twists and complex characters. The prose, while somewhat poetic, was really lengthy in places and lost my attention.

Becca and Amelia are four years apart but share the same hope of wanting something more than what their lives currently offer them. Both have boyfriends who love them but make a series of mistakes that jeopardize the future of their relationships. Where Becca spends her time angry, hurt and suddenly unsure of her future, Amelia is full of life and great expectations...until she isn't.

I always hope to like whatever book I'm currently reading and this one is no exception but it was a little too depressing for my taste.


Good Points
Alternating POV's.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Sick Kids in Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isabel has one rule: no dating. It’s easier―...
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Seven hundred years in the future, a powerful alien...
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Cameron Bates (Cam) could have almost any girl at...
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heart-wrenchingly honest, fans of Brandy Colbert and Nicola Yoon...
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
4.3 (1)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal...
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA...
The Rift
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
As corporate greed is pitted against supernatural forces, two...
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the last days of the twenty-first century, sea creatures...
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Anna and Elsa never knew each other? ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth delivers...
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The drowsy Dormouse from Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland...
Vicarious
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paula Stokes weaves together a series of mysteries and the...
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spinoff of The Replacement Crush featuring Amy and Toff...
The Unexpected Everything
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Andie must learn to embrace the beauty in chaos in...
What I Like About You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can a love triangle have only two people in it?...
The Kinder Poison
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the magical kingdom of Orkena, Zahru has long dreamed...

Latest Member Reviews

The Clique (The Clique #1)
 
4.0
"This is the most realistic book about girls in middle school I have ever read. it gets how girls..."
Best Friends for Never (The Clique #2)
 
3.0
"I read this book ages ago, but I still remember it clearly. The most memorable part is the Halloween party,..."
The Clique (The Clique #1)
 
5.0
"I read this way back when, in middle school probably, at the pressure of my friends. I finally gave in..."
The Clique (The Clique #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Elizabeth This book is a great story about a "clique" or a group of friends. Massie, the..."
The Clique (The Clique #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Elizabeth This book is a great story about a "clique" or a group of friends. Massie, the..."
The Clique (The Clique #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Elizabeth This book is a great story about a "clique" or a group of friends. Massie, the..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Stephanie Melody Carver is a "normie" (human) who regrets letting her plastic surgeon father fix her "camel-hump..."
The Clique (The Clique #1)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Denise Popular and rich Massie is devastated when she learns that not only is her father's..."
The Clique (The Clique #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by f00lishchick i think this book was really nice because it gave me the experience of what a..."
Best Friends for Never (The Clique #2)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by f00lishchick i think this bok was also good. again, i think it's funny how this clique is..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by f00lishchick i think this book was funy. it was witty, smart, girly, and very cliquey. i like..."
The Clique (The Clique #1)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Jordana OK first I would like to address some grammatical errors, such as forgetting periods at the..."
Revenge of the Wannabes (The Clique #3)
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by KyKy Hey Guys, I need help here all my friends are backstabbers! Like I am not the..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by book_lover This book is really awsome. Lisi harrison did a great job writing the recent installment...."
Invasion of the Boy Snatchers (The Clique #4)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Alie Invasion of the Boy Snatchers was another great book of the Clique Series. The Characters..."
 
2.0
"Reader reviewed by McKenzie Reviewed for Reader Views KidsMeet the Pretty Committee, Briarwood-Octavian Country Days most exclusive clique, also known..."
The Pretty Committee Strikes Back (The Clique #5)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Lea 3 days learning about survival? The Pretty Committee does it in style, or tries to. Kristin..."
The Clique (The Clique #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Ashley The Clique is about a group of (stuck-up) girls who go to Octavian Country Day..."
The Pretty Committee Strikes Back (The Clique #5)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by viki The life off a rich girl in a private school going on a boy girl fieldtrip..."
The Clique (The Clique #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Natalie The Cliqueis the fist book of the clique series by lisi harrison the book centers around the..."