Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2330
Not Scary Enough
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
To start off, this book is the opposite of something I normally would pick up. In fact, when I first heard of it, I never considered reading it. Because of that the whole reason I read this book was because I fell in love with the cover. I don't know what exactly it was that appealed to me, but there was something about it that caused me to be enamored by it. So, I finally borrowed it from my library and read it.

I don't know what I think of it. Like I said, it is completely different from books I normally read and that appealed to me a lot. I enjoyed the characters, I didn't "love" any of them, but I don't think that was what the author was trying to do. I enjoyed them, their quirks and for some of them, their insanity and obsessiveness that made them so intriguing. Will Henry was a perfect narrator and I garnered much amusement from his conversations with the monstrumologist. The monstrumologist was just as I would expect him to be, the mad scientist type fully devoted to his cause and of course very forgetful of mundane things but an excellent memory for anything that might pertain to his field of study. Together they made an excellent pair and were quite enjoyable to follow.

The plot was....average. The Anthropophagi(or poppies as Kearn's called them) were interesting and horrifying and the mystery interesting, but the plot was often times rather predictable, especially with Will Henry's purposefully obvious foreshadowing. Despite that I found it enjoyable and I definitely want to read the next books. As for the horror and gore. It was definitely scary and gory, though not as much as I expected(on the scary side of things, there was plenty of gore). I wasn't so much scared as repulsed most of the time. I think part of it was the complete absurdity of the Anthropophagi's appearance. I just had a hard time building a description of them in my mind that was scary, I mean I know they should be fearsome but I just couldn't see it. So that made things less frightening in my opinion. So basically all that was left was the blood and gore, described in detail and more than once causing my stomach to turn.

All in all, I liked the book and will definitely continue the series, but it wasn't as frightening as I hoped.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

The Ninja Club Sleepover
 
5.0
"THE NINJA CLUB SLEEPOVER is a great picture book for elementary school aged readers that explores friendship and feeling different...."
Weregirl
 
4.0
""Weregirl" takes the reader through a fantastic supernatural mystery within the small town of Tether. Tether's water supply had been..."
A Werewolf Named Oliver James
 
4.5
"Every day after band practice, Oliver James must be home by six o'clock sharp for dinner. However, tonight is different..."
The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones
 
4.7
"The first book in the world famous The Mortal Instruments series the City of Bones definitely lives up the hype...."
The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones
 
4.0
"I first read this series years ago before the third one had even come out and I loved them! They..."
Weregirl
 
3.3
"Nessa Kurland struggles with her day-to-day, typical teen life. She worries about how she will pay for college and if..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"rolex nuovo 2013rolex nuovo 2013rolex basilea[b][url=http://it.rolexswatches.top/]rolex nuovo 2013[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.rolexswatches.top/it/]rolex nuovo 2013[/url][/b][b][url=http://it.rolexswatches.top/]rolex basilea[/url][/b] [b][url=http://it.rolexswatches.top/]rolex nuovo..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"[b][url=http://it.burberrytrenchcoatwomen.top/]burberry occhiali da sole[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.burberrytrenchcoatwomen.top/it/]burberry occhiali da sole[/url][/b] burberryburberryburberry Burberry Factory Outlet Online Store, luogo ufficiale, 100% di qualità..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"hermes lusso di vendita on-linehermes lusso di vendita on-lineVendita on-line hermes [b][url=http://it.luxuryhermes.top/]hermes lusso di vendita on-line[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.luxuryhermes.top/it/]hermes lusso di vendita..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"usura spyder sci sconto usura spyder sci sconto [b][url=http://www.spyderoutdoor.top/it/]giacca spyder in vendita[/url][/b][b][url=http://it.spyderoutdoor.top/]outlet giacca spyder[/url][/b][b][url=http://www.spyderoutdoor.top/it/]outlet giacca spyder[/url][/b] Economici Spyder Donne Sci..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
" [b][url=http://it.hermesbelt.top/]sconto hermes borse[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.hermesbelt.top/it/]sconto hermes borse[/url][/b][b]hermes borse replica[/b] sconto hermes borsesconto hermes borsehermes..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"christian louboutin vendita christian louboutin vendita [b][url=http://www.christianlouboutinshoes.cn/it/christian-louboutin-sera-c-6.html]louboutin 2014[/url][/b] | [b][url=http://it.christianlouboutinshoes.cn/christian-louboutin-sera-c-6.html]louboutin 2014[/url][/b] | [b]louboutin 2014[/b] Christian Louboutin Calzari : Christian Louboutin..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"falsi orologi IWC in venditafalsi orologi IWC in venditaiwc swiss replica [b][url=http://it.fakeiwc.cn/]falsi orologi IWC in vendita[/url][/b][b][url=http://www.fakeiwc.cn/it/]falsi orologi IWC in vendita[/url][/b]..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"[b]signore giacche Barbour[/b] [b][url=http://www.barbouroutlet.co/it/]signore giacche Barbour[/url][/b] giacche Barbour in vendita giacche Barbour in vendita giacche Barbour in vendita ..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"replica orologireplica orologirolex [b][url=http://it.rolexstore.top/]replica orologi[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.rolexstore.top/it/]replica orologi[/url][/b] [b][url=http://it.rolexstore.top/]rolex[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.rolexstore.top/it/]rolex[/url][/b][b][url=http://it.rolexstore.top/]replica orologi[/url][/b][b][url=http://www.rolexstore.top/it/]replica orologi[/url][/b] Cosmograph Daytona..."
Wolf Dancer (New Dawn #2)
 
N/A
N nntzenabdu
"[b][url=http://www.spyderjackets.net/]spyder coats[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.spyderjackets.net/]spyder gloves[/url][/b] spyder jacket | spyder | spyder jackets Spyder Men Ski Suits ..."
Thornhill (Hemlock #2)
 
3.3
"After reading and loving Hemlock, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on Thornhill and revisit these characters. Peacock really..."
Thornhill (Hemlock #2)
 
4.3
"What I Loved: What a sequel! I really enjoyed HEMLOCK, book one in this series, and was hoping to..."
The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones
 
3.3
"First of all, I had wanted to read it for a very long time because it had good critics, the..."
The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones
 
4.3
"I loved this series so much, I've read it a few times now. Jace is one of my favorite hotties..."