Review Detail

Legend FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 9276
Action, Suspense & Strong Characters!
(Updated: May 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Action? Check. Strong characters? Check. Suspense? Check. Solid world-building and completely innovative plot twists? ... Not-so-check.

I'm quickly learning that I LOVE dual PoV and Legend is no exception. I loved reading from both June and Day's PoVs, as I felt like it really helped me connect with both of their characters. June is a strong, independent heroine - fearless and capable in almost any situation. Trained for military excellence for most of her life, she has a sharp mind, quick reflexes and a keen eye. Patriotic and proud to serve her country, it never crossed her mind to question the Republic or it's motives - especially when she was told Day had murdered her brother.

"In my mind, I make a silent promise to my brother's killer.

I will hunt you down. I will scour the streets of Los Angeles for you. Search every street in the Republic if I have to. I will trick you and deceive you, lie, cheat and steal to find you, tempt you out of your hiding place, and chase you until you have nowhere else to run. I make you this promise: your life is mine."

It was fascinating to watch her reactions to uncovering some of their darker secrets, and refreshing to see her take action and devise a plan of attack, instead of relying on someone else to do the work for her.

Day had similar strengths to June, but his skills were the result of a life which forced him to be agile and cunning in order to survive. His ability to show compassion for others, even after being experimented on and then left for dead at the age of ten, is remarkable. Most people would become cynical or jaded after living a life on the streets, scrounging for food and shelter, but Day not only survived - he thrived by making the best out of a horrible situation.

While I can't truly relate to either character, as I am neither a child prodigy (surprising, I know) or stronger for having to deal with being homeless, the deep emotions that both characters experience are things I can understand. I can understand the overwhelming grief that must come when faced with losing someone close to you, and how that grief would lead you to make rash decisions. I can understand how it feels to question something you have believed in for your whole life, and not like the answers you uncover. And I can understand how it feels to question yourself, and what you're capable of or what you believe in, and be scared of what you find. These are emotional hurdles that both June and Day struggled to overcome, and I felt like they both handled their different situations with such realism that I couldn't doubt their sincerity.

The plot moved quite quickly, and I found myself surprised with how quickly I finished the book. There wasn't a moment where I felt I could put the book down, because there didn't seem to be a moment without some heightened level of suspense or intense action occurring. I did find that I had many questions about the Republic and their war with the Colonies and the Patriots, which unfortunately weren't answered. The lack of world-building would have to be one of my only real issues with Legend, as the history regarding the formation of the Republic was never fully explained, nor was it explained what was happening with the rest of the world (or even with the rest of what used to be the United States). I also found it a little unbelievable that a fifteen-year-old could sneak into a heavily armed hospital, using only some dirt and dark clothes as a disguise, or that a different fifteen-year-old would be tasked with hunting down the country's most notorious criminal. I guess in the future teenagers are much more capable then they are today?

The only other (minor) issue I had with Legend was the trickle of insta-love that tried to impose itself on June and Day's romance. Having only known each other for a couple days, both are already harbouring fantasies of what it might be like to kiss the other and Day's strong emotions for June were never really developed. Lu's saving grace was that she didn't have either character express their deep feelings for the other - most of their interactions were purely physical. I was able to forgive the hinting of insta-love because neither character allowed the romance to overwhelm the plot. It also didn't hurt that Day had several tragically beautiful things to say about June.

"Her sadness makes her impossibly beautiful, like snow blanketing a barren landscape."

"June has never looked more beautiful than she does now, unadorned and honest, vulnerable and yet invincible."

He was just full of great one-liners!

Compelling characters and an intriguing (if predictable) plot full of secrets and government conspiracies had me unable to put Legend down until I had finished it!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."