Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1522
Preachy and Unoriginal
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0
At first, I couldn't stand the thought of another fallen angel, searching for the reincarnated soul of their human soulmate, plot. And then I realized (hoped) that Halo might be different - three angels are sent to Earth, disguised as humans, to use their good actions to counteract the forces of darkness seeping in to town. They were not meant to form attachments, and thus there could be no instant attraction, soulmate stuff, right? Wrong.

Too soon the angels' original mission seems to be forgotten and all attention is focused on the budding relationship between Bethany and Xavier. It never was explained why Bethany was allowed to continue to date Xavier, considering it seemed quite taboo up until Gabriel spoke with the covenant, and Bethany seemed to completely forget her purpose on Earth as each conscious moment was consumed with thoughts of Xavier. Through all the thoughts of Xavier, I couldn't help but wonder when we would see her contribute something to the mission, some reason to explain why she was chosen. I'm disappointed (but not shocked) to report that having finished Halo, her role in the mission is never explained/justified.

Instead we are forced to bear witness to Bethany's transformation into Bella. A completely spineless, uninteresting character who has no purpose to serve, no reason to live, if her boyfriend is not in the picture. At one point, Bethany mentions how Xavier has become a buffer in her life, helping her to steer clear of the things/people who would cause her harm. As an angel who was eager to experience life as a human, being unable to experience any sort of (emotional) pain seems unrealistic. And why she needs a boy to protect her is beyond me. Even though she inhabits a "frail" human body, she is still an angel with unearthly powers (though we never really get to see what hers were). I wish she had had the courage to face situations head-on, instead of cowering behind her boyfriend, relying on his strength to get her through. I wish she hadn't been so insecure, running to Xavier for comfort whenever something upset her, so he could reassure her that everything was going to be ok.

She became so melodramatic, that I almost couldn't finish the book.

"Everything would fall apart; there wouldn't be anything to live for. If we end, I end."

I'm surprised that Adornetto didn't use blank pages after Bethany's fight with Xavier to establish how hollow Bethany felt without his presence; that's how eerily similar Bethany became to Bella. Instead she had her sobbing on the beach, until the tide rose and almost swallowed her whole. I don't understand why love has to be so all-consuming in YA novels recently. It's not romantic to wish for death if you are separated from the one you love - I especially didn't expect that of an angel, seeing how suicide is an unforgivable sin.

The most frustrating part was the continuous use of foreshadowing.

"When I looked back on it later, I realized that was exactly what Jake Thorn had wanted."

And it wasn't enough to end the chapter on a cliffhanger, each segue way into a new section within a chapter also had to end in foreshadowing. It was tiresome; just get to the point already.

I'm not even going to get in to how overly boring the story was or how preachy Adornetto's writing was. Its just not worth my time.

I did not enjoy Halo and I would not recommend it to others.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."
Cross Fire
 
5.0
""Cross Fire" was a great sequel to Exo that wraps up all the major plotlines and possibilities. The zhree, an..."
Cross Fire
 
5.0
"Smart, well-paced, and intensely thought provoking. This series is on track to redefine sci-fi expectations for the YA genre. ..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
" This story packs a punch. With spare, powerful prose the author portrays a character growing increasingly angry and isolated..."
Teeth
 
3.7
"Great to have a male protagonist in YA. This was an interesting story that takes place on a lonely island..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"What I Liked: Obviously, A Monster Calls came to me HIGHLY recommended from friends with great taste. That’s always exciting,..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"A Monster Calls has to be the most inventive book I've read. And I find myself struggling to put in..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"A Monster Calls is an unflinchingly honest story. It talks about our darkest, innermost secrets and how we leave certain..."
Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The strengths of this book are the realistic setting and the nuanced relationships between family members...."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"this book is a very good book. If you read it you'll be impressed. This book is featured for everyone..."
A Monster Calls
 
N/A
"I think whoever reads this book will argee with me that is a very mysterious and puzzling read. I..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"It is a very good book"
A Monster Calls
 
4.0
"this story is intresting because it contans strong langwiges like rept,short setes like.As they do. "
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"I loved this book.I didn't think it was my style as im in to Equine books,but this proved me wrong!Its..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"It is a very good book a good plot and as it is baced on a real story of a..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"Amazing book! The author uses a style wchich not alot of authors can use properly! this book should have..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"This book is amazing!"
Teeth
 
4.3
"What I Loved: Moskowitz's writing in Teeth is not of a style that generally appeals to me, but the writing..."
Teeth
 
3.5
" I was drawn to this book because I liked the sound of..."