Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1399
Better Than Companion Novel
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I really was not looking forward to this book after having read and pretty much hated The Reformed Vampire Support Group. Thankfully, this one was much better. It's still not going to be a new favorite, but it was a decent read that moved along at a nice pace.

The real difference between the two is the narrator; where Nina is bored and boring, Toby is full of energy and typical teen boy-ness. Catherine Jinks' conception of vampires was amusing, but reading about a bunch of folks who do nothing but whine is no fun. Toby whines, but he also tries to change his circumstances. He also has a clear personality, unlike the vampires (who show up in this book and still remain static characters).

I still have some issues with Jinks' worldbuilding. Becoming a werewolf is evidently an inherited trait, found only in families of Spanish or Portuguese backgrounds. Not only that, but they have to be the seventh sons. Yikes but that's specific. The book even says that werewolves are typically found in South America and the Phillipines (although nothing is mentioned about Spain or Portugal...), so why are there so many werewolves running around Australia (not to mention so many werewolves in general)? With vampires, too, I am a bit concerned about their origin. Apparently, one bite turns a human into a vampire. If it's that easy, why is the world not populated entirely with very hungry vampires? Sure, the group tries not to fang folks, but all vampires cannot be that particular, especially in early days.

Overall, this was an okay read, but, should there be more books in this series, I will not be continuing on. This one was good enough to give me some hope for Jinks' other series about geniuses (of which I own the first book).
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Do Fish Drink Water?: Puzzling and Improbable Questions and Answers
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Jamie Synopsis An official webmaster for Xerox provides factual and often funny responses to the multitude..."
Do Fish Drink Water?: Puzzling and Improbable Questions and Answers
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Julie This book was filled with so many facts I just couldn't get enough of it. I..."
Do Fish Drink Water?: Puzzling and Improbable Questions and Answers
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Amanda Bill McLain has all of the answers to the strangest questions. Im sure youll enjoy finding..."