Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 5350
A Pleasant Surprise
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I have been on a contemporary kick lately, so I wasn't initially drawn to GRAVE MERCY. Although, after reading several great reviews, I decided I had to check it out for myself. I loved this book! The first night I started reading, I had crazy dreams about the characters in this book.

I was immediately drawn to Ismae, she is the kind of female lead that makes you want to keep reading. She is strong, loyal, and independent enough to do what she knows is right. She is trained to kill, and she does but she also respects truth and honesty. She also learns to love. Duval is a mystery right from the beginning. When Ismae is sent to court with him, she cannot figure out if he is really who he says he is. Duval claims his loyalty to the duchess but information she has received from her convent may prove otherwise. Ismae's personal strength is shown as she goes on her own quest for the truth.

I loved that Robin LaFevers kept me guessing throughout the novel. Every time I thought I had figured out the traitor to the duchess, there was another twist. I'm glad I felt the story play out through Ismae's eyes, I never felt like I was waiting for the story to catch up with me.

I am excited to see how this series plays out. I cannot wait for the second book!
Good Points
Two words: assassin nuns
World-building
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
November 09, 2013
If I remember correctly, this book is huge, so maybe I should consider listening to it on audio. I'm always wary of books that are historical because they generally aren't my favorite, but I have heard amazing things about Grave Mercy.
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… ...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more...
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Violet Choudhury may be part of the popular clique...
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this electrifying YA sequel to Beware the Night,...
Something New
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cassie Briggs never thought she’d be married at age sixteen—especially...
Crave
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy....
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable rhyming Peter Rabbit book that celebrates dads everywhere....
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As we all wake up, the outside world bustles with...

Latest Member Reviews

The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"apologize if this is a long review but I have a lot to say. Going into this book, I went..."
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
"I LOVE YOU, DADDY is a sweet book for fathers to share with their young readers. Featuring springy pastels, Peter..."
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
"MORNING, SUNSHINE! is an informative journey through nature and poetry. Each spread features a haiku on the left page and..."
I, Cosmo
 
4.0
"Cosmo is the "big brother" of Max and his young sister Emmaline, and is now 13 years old. He still..."
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation (Charlie Thorne #1)
 
5.0
"Charlie is a twelve year old intellectual prodigy who has uncaring, manipulative parents whom she has escaped by enrolling in..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Otter: What Pet Is Best?
 
5.0
"'Otter: What Pet Is Best?' by Sam Garton introduces Otter to a variety of pets that he might want, but..."
I Want to Be a Pilot
 
5.0
"'I Want to Be a Pilot' by Laura Driscoll, pictures by Catalina Echeverri, takes readers on a journey through an..."
All Aboard! The Airport Train
 
4.5
"'All Aboard! The Airport Train' by Nichole Mara, illustrated by Andrew Kolb, is a neat, lift-the-flap book that turns into..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."
Perfectly Misunderstood
 
4.0
"'Perfectly Misunderstood' by Robin Daniels tells the story of Jayden and Mike, two high school students who seem to be..."
Diggersaurs Explore (Diggersaurs)
 
5.0
"DIGGERSAURS EXPLORE is a delightful sequel to the book taking the toddler world by storm! Whether you have a little..."