Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1851
Even Better Than the First
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
It is rare that I like a second book in a trilogy more than the first, but Leah Clifford raised the stakes in A Touch Morbid and I was absolutely captivated. Once I started, I simply could not put it down, and I read straight through in just over 2 hours. What is big and awesome in A Touch Mortal only gets better in this installment of the characters’ story.

I love the characters. The characters of this trilogy are so unique, and they all are very different from one another. Eden was one character that really grew on me in this book. She was a good character in A Touch Mortal, but I definitely felt she grew a lot and was a character I genuinely liked with this book. I super loved Gabe in this one, he was already a great character, but oh my gosh, his character was just marvelous in this one. Despite the fact I think I’m supposed to hate Luke, I found myself falling hard for him in this one. Kristen is one of the best written characters I’ve read in a long time.

Leah Clifford doesn’t leave a single dull moment. The entire book is fast paced and action packed. Everything that goes down is simply fascinating, and I loved every moment of it. While there is never a slow moment, Leah Clifford still manages to have this perfect pacing; nothing is ever too much or too little. Michael was an interesting guy. I felt like he was a complete creeper, but every scene with him in it were some of the most intense in the books. They were the ones where I was flipped pages at a crazy speed. In addition to everything else going down, there were also lots of sexy times in A Touch Morbid, which I wholeheartedly approved of.

A lot of questions are answered, yet Leah Clifford raises about a dozen more in the process. The plot just kept layering deeper and deeper, and I am so intrigued to see where it goes in the last installment. The whole idea of the Siders is so intriguing by itself, but when you add in all the other details of the story line, it is just brilliant.

Your emotions will be in shambles by the end of this book. You also never know who to trust, Leah Clifford plays with your emotions to make you think so and so is behind something, then flips the switch and then you suspect someone else. It is absolute torture. In addition to that, just everything that happens is completely emotionally draining. I was happy, then clueless, then worried about this character or that character, all paired with these absolutely heart-wrenching moments.

My one complaint? That is was not longer, as I know I have to wait out the long months before book 3 is out. The ending was an absolute killer! Everything builds and builds to this crazy peak and Leah Clifford just leaves readers hanging.

This series is one of those must reads. I loved book 1 and book gets bigger and better. Basically I think all of this could be summed up with the statement of I hate Leah Clifford for being a genius. She’s a genius this series is just SO good and that makes the wait between books so agonizing. There is no other way to put it, but that A Touch Morbid by Leah Clifford was simply brilliant.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Fangs & Fins
 
3.3
"Ivy and Ember are thrown together when their parents marry. One a popular girl, the other a bookworm, they start..."
The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
 
4.3
"THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds..."
Tides
 
3.7
" Noah and Lo head to their grandmother's house on an island for the summer. Noah is excited to start..."
Cry of the Sea
 
5.0
"This review was from Evie Seo of Bookish reviews: Cry Of The Sea turned out to be such a..."
The Vast and Brutal Sea (The Vicious Deep #3)
 
4.7
"In this action-packed conclusion, Cordova brings her fantastic trilogy to its full potential. True to the other books in the..."
Captivate (Submerged Sun #1)
 
3.0
"Captivate has potential to end up being something pretty good. I admit, I picked it up based on the cover..."
Promise Bound (Lies Beneath #3)
 
5.0
"In the conclusion to the fantasy-romance series, LIES BENEATH, Anne Greenwood Brown makes the magic of the waters of Lake..."
Waterfell (The Aquarathi #1)
 
3.0
"This is kind of hard to review because I both liked and did not like Waterfell. It has a lot..."
Waterfell (The Aquarathi #1)
 
2.0
"I tried SO hard to finish this book. I tried for nearly an entire month, in fact. But try as..."
Waterfell (The Aquarathi #1)
 
4.3
"Lost mermaid princess. No, lost alien mermaid princess - how could that not attract me to the book? Technically, she's..."
Elegy (Watersong #4)
 
4.7
"Oh my, the Watersong series has ended and as much as it hurts me to say goodbye to Gemma, Harper,..."
The Twice Lost (The Lost Voices Trilogy #3)
 
4.7
"The story of a brave and sweet mermaid, Luce, who wants to change the ways of her fellow mermaids from..."
Waking Storms (The Lost Voices Trilogy #2)
 
4.3
" Finally, a sequel that didn't disappoint! I've been having some serious issues with sequels lately, so I'm..."