Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 5232
Life As We Knew It (Last Survivors #1)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Life as we Know centers around the life of a family after a catastrophe ,as told by the 16 year old narrator Miranda, in diary format. After a worldwide catasptrophe, Miranda and her family must learn to survive in a drastically changed world. Gas prices rise, food is scare, family and friends are dead.With everything changing around them Miranda and her family struggle to stay together.

The main protagonist matures nicely in the book from a slightly pampered sixteen year old to more mature and decisive character.Miranda intially pines for the creature comforts lost but eventually realizes that they are all in a struggle for survival. Life as We Knew It Is not just a look at how things change after catatsrophe but, also a look at how people change.Life As We Knew It is the first book in the last survivor's series.
This book is a perfect book for readers that like post-apocalyptical reads with great writing, the main character will also be very relateable to many readers.

Age group: 13 and up
Content: a refernce to somone letting her teenage daughter go off with a grown man, a reference to a charcter committing suicide, references to several people dying in disasters, some characters consume wine at a dinner, also a reference to teenage pregnancy.
Good Points
The first person diary format allows the reader to connect with the character on a greater level than most books.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...

Latest Member Reviews

Empress of the World (Battle Hall Davies #1)
 
4.0
" This review can also be found at http://fortheloveofbooksreviews.blogspot.ca/2016/09/empress-of-world-by-sara-ryan.html Nicola is taking a summer course in archaeology at..."
I Was Here
 
4.7
"Think of a darker THIRTEEN REASONS WHY. In this case Cody blames herself for the suicide of her BFF. After..."
Tokyo Heist
 
4.7
"I love travel and love books set in foreign places. Renn did a great job capturing Tokyo in this book...."
The Edge of the Water (Whidbey Island Saga #2)
 
3.0
"The Edge of the Water, sequel to The Edge of Nowhere, takes Becca and the inhabitants of Whidbey Island on..."
The Edge of Nowhere
 
3.7
"The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George follows young Becca King, a girl who can hear thoughts of others as..."
Mosquitoland
 
5.0
"Mosquitoland by David Arnold is now one of my favorite books and the best I've read in a long, long..."
Mosquitoland
 
5.0
"The first thing a reader notices when they pick up MOSQUITOLAND is the voice. Self-proclaimed strange protagonist Mary Iris Malone..."
Mosquitoland
 
4.3
"Writing reviews for contemporaries are the hardest for me, especially the ones that involve Important Topics About Life. Mosquitoland is..."
A Mad, Wicked Folly
 
5.0
"I actually really loved this book. It was a great standalone read and I really enjoyed reading it. ..."
I Was Here
 
4.0
"Cody is shocked by her best friend Meg's death. To her, Meg was happy and she has no idea what..."
I Was Here
 
5.0
"After reading Forman’s debut novel, If I Stay, and its sequel, Where She Went, I knew Forman was not afraid..."
45 Pounds (More or Less)
 
4.0
" I wanted to read this one because I am overweight myself and figured that I would..."
Stranger (The Change #1)
 
4.0
"What I Liked: If you follow my reviews, you probably know that I adore books about people with powers. Stranger..."
Blind
 
3.3
"What I Liked: Rachel DeWoskin’s Blind was a book I was curious about, but I wasn’t so sure it would..."
Blind
 
4.0
" I wanted to read Blind because I am drawn to books dealing with disability or mental..."
Nelly Gnu and Daddy Too
 
3.5
"Anna Dewdney's famous "Llama Llama" series is a treat to read and has always put a smile on my face...."
Latitude Zero
 
4.3
"Talk about whirlwind suspense, tension, and adventure that doesn't stop! I was hooked on the very first page of..."
Brazen
 
5.0
"Historicals are one of my all time favorite genres. I also love anything that deals with the Tudors. ..."
Half Bad (The Half Bad Trilogy #1)
 
4.7
"Half Bad is disturbing -- as it should be. There are ten million places to find a synopsis, but the..."
Half Bad (The Half Bad Trilogy #1)
 
4.3
"Upon finishing Half Bad my first thought was, "HOLY CRAP!", so I went to Goodreads to see what everyone else..."