Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3952
Non-stop Action!
(Updated: December 10, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Get ready for an action and mystery-filled book.

Every Other Day centres on Kali D’Angelo, a teenage girl who grown up to be a demon hunter. Well, not exactly a demon hunter every day. For every other day, she’s just normal, and every twenty four hours, she’s an efficient, deadly demon hunter. But her life takes a turn when she saves a girl, marked for death. She races against time to save herself and her friends before she turns back into her human self… and discover some answers to her own situation.

Dang it! I can’t stop thinking about this book! It’s amazingly good, and I have been graced to read this book in advance (a special thanks to NetGalley, the publisher, and the author for making this possible). It has the most important aspects of an urban-fantasy novel: kick-ass scenes, witty remarks, heartbreaking situations, and a mystery so deep you have to finish the book before you get the answer. Barnes did an excellent job on conceiving a brand new, original fantasy novel.

The characters were so cool and detailed, they were believable. Their lines were witty and funny, I so love them. I especially love Skylar, because she’s not the typical best friend you see around. Skylar is both psychic and thoughtful; she knows how to deal with her friends and how to support them. Kali was also great, though she spends her time alone for the most part of the book. Barnes expanded the definition of paranormal in this book. She cites creatures that were once popular, like the Chupacabra or the Hellhounds. Not to mention, Philippines’ own mythical monster, the Alan. Reading the book is so exciting, exhilarating, and thrilling; it’s like watching an Action/Thriller film, plus a little bit of gore. But what kept me up was the mystery. It lingers on my skin, as I dig deep on the book to find the secret to Kali’s condition.

There wasn’t a part I didn’t like, and it’s rich in details, fast-paced, and very thrilling. It has a bit of romance, though it was pushed back to pave way for more action and mystery. It’s what I really love about this book. Barnes focused on action and mystery of the book, not a common formula for bestselling books. I sure hope that readers would really find this book very amazing.

I highly recommend this to all booklovers, book bloggers, and to those who are hyped with thrilling books.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Once Again (Again #2)
 
3.0
JenJen
"For those who enjoy love, swoon, and more toned down smexy times in their New Adult, these are the books..."
Never Again (Again #1)
 
3.0
JenJen
"For those who enjoy love, swoon, and more toned down smexy times in their New Adult, these are the books..."