Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3900
Coming of Age in the 50s
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
N/A
Characters 
 
N/A
Writing Style 
 
4.0
In the 1950s, Franny must cope with coming of age and do so with a birth defect—a crippled foot. She hates the orthopedic shoes she must wear as much as she hates the limp that defines her as “different.” Putting on a good front, Franny focuses on getting along with others and being exceptionally generous. But when freshman year of high school begins, new pressures pile on her. The final straw occurs at her first high school dance. After shopping for a special dress and buying “normal” new shoes, Franny’s mother stuffs the offending shoe with toilet paper to help it fit. At the dance, to Franny’s mortification, the toilet paper shifts and trails out of her shoe while she is dancing with her crush, Mikey. Horrified, she flees to the restroom, and later her bedroom where she insists on remaining.

Her family struggles to cope with Franny’s depression. Eventually Franny exits her room, but she is no longer the cheerful, friendly girl she once was. Her mother, in a last ditch effort to help her daughter, finds an article in a magazine about a famous shoe designer from Italy. She sends the designer a letter requesting his help in making a pair of shoes for Franny. When he invites Franny to Italy, the girl begins a journey of self-discovery that will change how she views herself.

The Lovely Shoes by Susan Shreve poignantly captures the pain of adolescence and the perceived ostracism of being different. Although the book is intended for grades 4-7, the book is better suited to 7-9th grades, as it deals with some themes an elementary student will not relate to.

The snippets of Italian culture and 1950s nostalgia add interesting touches for the curious reader. Humor brightens the book and lends perspective, all while Shreve captures spot-on the attitudes and feelings of the young adolescent. Perhaps this story rings so true because the book is based on Shreve’s own experiences growing up as a polio survivor. A touching story of family, love, fashion and growing up.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Do Fish Drink Water?: Puzzling and Improbable Questions and Answers
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Jamie Synopsis An official webmaster for Xerox provides factual and often funny responses to the multitude..."
Do Fish Drink Water?: Puzzling and Improbable Questions and Answers
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Julie This book was filled with so many facts I just couldn't get enough of it. I..."
Do Fish Drink Water?: Puzzling and Improbable Questions and Answers
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Amanda Bill McLain has all of the answers to the strangest questions. Im sure youll enjoy finding..."