Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 4720
Definitely lived up to my expectations!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I have wanted to read this book since I read the last page of Nightshade about a year ago. I must say, I am NOT disappointed. Cremer created compelling characters, a juicy history, and a luscious romance with Nightshade and as I learned more about all of those things in Wolfsbane, I found myself loving the series even more. Mind-blowing secrets are unveiled and heartbreaking decisions are made.


This book really explains a lot of things that were unclear to me in Nightshade. It delves further into the history of the Keepers, the Searchers, and the Guardians and introduces great new characters.


One thing I think is important about this series is that it is NOT about werewolves. Upon reading Nightshade, I made the mistake of believing that it was a werewolf tale, But as I learned more about the characters and witnessed the challenges that they faced I realized that it was so much more than that. This series is about love, about sacrifice, about protecting those you love, about making life-altering decisions, about learning who to trust. This series is so much more than a werewolf story and it has a uniqueness all its own.
Good Points
The protagonist. Calla Tor is independent, strong (both physically and emotionally), and she has a tongue as sharp as her teeth. She would do anything to protect the people that she loves and she has an iron strong will. Nobody gets away with messing with her. She has to make a lot of extremely difficult decisions for the sake of her pack and her heart. She is a fearless leader, ready to jump into battle at any time. She's not afraid to ask the questions that nobody else would dare ask and she has a tendency to get to the bottom of things.

The lust. There is PLENTY of that in this series and it is refreshing compared to the mushy crap that takes place in a lot of books. Because while there is plenty of love in this book, there's also a whole lot of temptation to rip clothes off.

The history. Me saying that I like the history of anything is not a frequent occurrence. I've always dreaded history of any sort, but the history of Nightshade is full of deception, blood shed, and other awesome factors that make me actually want to learn more.

The deaths. It seems a little harsh to LIKE people dying, but what can I say? I guess I'm a harsh person. Because when you are shoved into the kind of situations that the characters from Wolfsbane are shoved into, people are going to die. Not everybody is going to make it out of those ordeals.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...

Latest Member Reviews

The Day Before (Riverdale Novel 1)
 
4.0
"Riverdale: The Day Before features the perspectives of the four main characters of season 1: Jughead, Archie, Betty, and Veronica...."
These Broken Stars (Starbound #1)
 
5.0
""These Broken Stars" is an interesting YA sci-fi that follows two young people after a space shuttle crash. Lilac LeRoux..."
Deception (Defiance #2)
 
4.0
""Deception" continues Rachel and Logan's story as the survivors of Baalboden head into Wasteland to make a new life for..."
Across a Star-Swept Sea (For Darkness Shows the Stars #2)
 
5.0
""Across a Star-Swept Sea" is an incredible sequel that introduces a new world and cast of characters, making it also..."
Ready Player One
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this story it kept me entertained. I enjoyed the characters and ending."
These Broken Stars (Starbound #1)
 
4.0
"I’ll admit I was a bit hesitant to pick this one up. First of all, it sounded a bit like..."
Nevermore (Nevermore #1)
 
4.0
"What a ride! As a Poe enthusiast, I found this book irresistible. I struggled to put it down. And, when..."
Nevermore (Nevermore #1)
 
4.7
" It's great! What I love the most is how dark and gritty the world felt. It was so cool..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)
 
4.0
"Possible spoilers ahead. Angelfall is most definitely a unique story with a dark twist on angels and the apocalypse..."
172 Hours on the Moon
 
4.0
"172 Hours on the Moon was an interesting novel. It was full of suspense, thrills, and horror. The author crafted..."
Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)
 
4.7
"This book follows Penryn, a young girl living in a dystopian world where angels have conquered the world and have..."
Vampire Academy: Last Sacrifice (Book 6)
 
4.7
"Rose Hathaway and Princess Valissa Dragomir must uncover the mysteries going on in St. Vladamir's Academy and their world. St...."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
5.0
"Definitely the reason why I decided to reread this was because of the show. and now that I finished reading..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
3.7
"Thirteen Reasons Why (stylised as Th1rteen R3eason Why) follows shy high school teenager Clay Jensen. Clay has received a..."
L.A. Candy (L.A. Candy #1)
 
3.3
"This is is not very good but for some reason I kind of enjoyed it. It's going to be one..."
Anna and the French Kiss
 
4.7
"Anna's father decides he's going to send Anna to a international boarding school in Paris. It's her senior year and..."
Allegiant (Divergent #3)
 
5.0
"The Divergent series comes to an end as Tris, Tobias and the gang venture outside the fence. This was another..."
Vampire Academy: Last Sacrifice (Book 6)
 
4.0
"4.5 stars! Action packed and filled with humor, the Vampire Academy series is a great read for teens. Richelle Mead..."
Ready Player One
 
4.7
K Karen@Thebookreturn.com
"I have to say that I think this will be a must read for everyone although I think that those..."