Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2035
The Odd Couple
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Now Playing: Stoner & Spaz II leaves off immediately after Stoner & Spaz ends, despite the 10 year hiatus between the writing of the books. Colleen, the stoner, has just ditched Ben, the spaz with cerebral palsy, to hook up with some guy she doesn’t know, Nick, to get high. Ben can’t believe she would do that. Despite it all, Ben still loves her and you know, in her way, Colleen loves him. Days later, she’s back asking Ben to write a school paper for her—up to her usual tricks.

Now Playing has the same characters as the original; Ben’s Grandmother and guardian, and their across the street neighbor, Marcie, who got Ben into film making. As such, it tracks Ben and Colleen’s relationship, her attempt at rehab, and her leaving home. But the book adds some new characters: AJ who Ben met at his film showing and who shows an interest in him. AJ’s the second ‘normal’ girl to not be repelled by Ben’s physical condition. She’s the complete opposite of Colleen. While Colleen dresses in short skirts and torn shirts and has tattoos, AJ is upper crust, clean and cute. We also meet Ben’s mother, Delia, who dropped Ben on his grandmother’s doorstep when he was quite young and disappeared from his life forever. It’s Colleen’s snooping and finding an address for her that forces Ben to meet her. So, readers are introduced to a character with emotional issues in addition to Ben’s physical ones and Colleen’s drug issues.

While the plot of Now Playing is interesting, it is the dialogue between Ben and Colleen, their relationship with all its ups and downs, and their commitment that are compelling. How often does one see someone love another unconditionally? Koertge introduces some new issues in Now Playing and plays out some of the old issues. While part of his ending is idealistic, part of it is realistic and hopeful, not necessarily pat and tied in a bow. Now Playing: Stoner & Spaz II is a must read for anyone who liked the original. However, it is a standalone book and people who aren’t familiar with the first book will still enjoy it.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.7
"I know better than to start a Kelly Oram book at bedtime. I know better, yet I do it with..."
Being Jamie Baker (Jamie Baker #1)
 
5.0
"I was never a fan of superheroes growing up, but Kelly Oram creates someone that any reader could relate to...."
Cinder & Ella
 
5.0
"If perfection was possible in literature, Cinder & Ella would be case and point. But alas, reading is subjective so..."