Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1720
The best young adult paranormal book ever
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Misha

Every now and then comes a book I wish it would never end. This was one of them. It was very funny, I've no idea how many times I actually laughed, but it was a lot.
Seventeen-year-old Amber's forced to take a work placement in Scotland as a housekeeper during the summer holidays before she starts college. She needs the money and the job pays well.
The house is eerie, dead. Its inhabitants, sexy Aidan, his brother Kieran and beautiful Clare, are hardly ever there, always arriving at night, if ever. Amber hates the job; she has higher aspirations but lacks the money. Her brother, Dallas, persuades her to break into a shed in the woods in the middle of the night because he claims to have spied valuable gemstones through the window. The ploy goes well, until Dallas disappears and Amber's forced to find her way through the pitch black alone while being followed by a blue light.
She finds the gemstones, but someone's after her after she's just unknowingly entered a paranormal race and scooped up the first prize. Days later, strange things start to happen, like seeing people no one else can see. Aidan's suddenly starting to spend time with her, making her fall in love with him. Soon, she's exposed to an immortal world she never knew existed: a world of love bonds spun by fate, a world where demi goddesses, succubi and demon children reign, one where Shadows and vampires have been fighting to find an ancient spell book for centuries. By winning the prize, Amber's now the only one that can travel to the otherworld to retrieve the legendary book of secrets. But she's mortal, and no mortal has ever survived that journey. Who can she trust to bring her back from the dead? Sexy vampire, Aidan, who wants the book so badly but claims to have a bond with her? The Shadows, whose demon child queen feeds from her own people? Or the devil's daughter and chaos angel, Cassandra, who keeps helping Amber for no apparent reason?
I'll stop here so as not to give away too much of the plot. Let's just say a lot more's going on with various subplots that intertwine at the end very nicely.
The writing was absolutely beautiful, the strong voices, mostly Amber but a few times we get Aidan's perspective, drew me in straight away. Amber's not a whiny girl, she's fierce but also vulnerable. Aidan, her love interest, was sexy as hell. Each character suited their purpose with plenty of hidden layers to them. No one was truly good and truly bad. I liked how the author showed their emotions, motivations and what drove them to act the way they did. A very original plot, the twists kept coming with plenty of cliffhangers. But what I liked best was the voice because it really spoke to me. From the the plot, to the characters and beautiful writing, everything drew me in and kept my attention. I was also surprised to see such good editing with no grammar or spelling mistakes in an indie book, but given that Ms Scott is also a published non-fiction author this might not come as a surprise. I hope the second book in the series will be out soon.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Aftermath
 
5.0
"Each second of my four years, two months, and seven days in the attic dragged on forever, and nothing ever..."
Aftermath
 
4.3
"This is a rich, realistic tale about facing horrors and surviving through the darkness planted in your mind. I was..."
Aftermath
 
4.3
"What worked: This is at times a gut-wrenching, emotional tale of a teen who is found after being abducted. ..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
N/A
"When they were seven-years-old, Emmy and Oliver were best friends. Then Oliver’s dad kidnapped him and he wasn’t heard from..."
Pointe
 
5.0
"Just after I read Pointe I had a family emergency that took me away from home for a few weeks...."
Emmy & Oliver
 
3.7
"If there’s anything you’re going to take away from this book, or a few other Robin Benway books, is that..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
4.7
"When they were seven-years-old, Emmy and Oliver were best friends. Then Oliver's dad kidnapped him and he wasn't heard from..."
The Disappearance of Emily H.
 
4.0
"Raine isn't happy that her mother has moved them again, escaping from another not-so-nice boyfriend and "starting over". It means..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
4.5
" I wanted to read Emmy and Oliver because it sounded like an emotionally charged book, and..."
Unaccompanied Minor
 
4.3
"Every once in awhile I come across a book that I just can’t put down. It’s a fun read, a..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
5.0
"First Impressions I got an ARC of Emmy & Oliver from The Regulator Bookshop in February. I saw it..."
Pointe
 
3.7
"What I Liked Theo, short for Theodora, makes a lot of really bad choices. She’s definitely riding on the hot..."