Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1399
Werewolves do exist!
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Tobias Vandevelde wakes up in a hospital with no memory of the night before. He finds out he was found unconscious and naked in a dingo pen. He's not only horrified but beyond embarrassed especially when his friends find out.

Then mysterious Reuben shows up, claiming Tobias has a rare and dangerous 'condition'. He doesn't believe Reuben and a group of strange people who say they only want to help. It isn't until Tobias is kidnapped that he starts to believe that there might be something wrong with him. But is it now too late?

This story has an intriguing premise. I like the idea of a group of people that try to help werewolves. Also the Australian Outback was a freshing backdrop. Tobias did sound like an average thirteen-year-old boy especially with some of the pranks he tries at the beginning of the story with his friends.

The pacing at times was a little slow but picks up after Tobias is kidnapped. Then the story goes through some fast-paced action where Tobias finds out his so-called helpers aren't all they seem to be. He's also pretty smart on ways to try to get out of his prison.

I do admit I skimmed through places where the dialogue seemed to drag on. I also felt there were times the plot drifted and I got confused on what exactly was happening.

This is not the typical werewolf tale. But if you are looking for a different twist on the usual paranormal story and one that has some quirky characters, do try this one. I also feel this book will appeal to boys who can relate with Tobias and some of the prank scenes. For this reason I give this book a 2 and a half star rating.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

The Secret Diary of Lydia Bennet
 
4.7
"Lydia Bennet is not a fan of the country life. Her older sisters do their own things, and she’s left..."
Macbeth #killingit (OMG Shakespeare series)
 
4.0
"Imagine Hamlet being told through social media! This is a fun retelling of Hamlet told through text messages, Twitter,..."