Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1789
Another great series by Sara Shepard
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Meghan

I picked up The Lying Game from the store, not really expecting much. I wanted to choose a second book to read and the store was about to close, so I just grabbed it and checked out. I'm glad I did.

The Lying Game is about two long lost twins. Before you wrinkle your nose, thinking it's a huge cliche, you know you're in for a new twist on the cliche when Sara Shepard makes fun of it through the characters. I found this a nice little detail in an already great story. 

The Lying Game follows the story of Emma and Sutton, as they try to piece together what happened before Sutton was killed and whodunnit. Only Emma can't hear or see Sutton, which I found actually kind of relieving. That would have been a whole other cliche. Instead, you feel Sutton's desperation as she realizes no one can see or hear her. This plays out rather badly as Sutton can only watch Emma, following her like a lost puppy wherever she goes, seeing only when Emma can see. I felt anxious for Sutton and Emma because at first, Emma doesn't know Sutton is dead. Emma thinks her twin is inviting her out to Arizona to reunite. 

Emma then gets trapped in pretending to be Sutton, threatened by an unknown enemy that if she doesn't, there'll be severe consequences. The rest of the story slowly unfolds new memories for an amnesiac Sutton and new revelations for a terrified Emma. Emma finds out her twin wasn't what she hoped she'd be. She was actually kind of a witch. 

Sutton was part of The Lying Game, a clique of four girls that got giggles from pranking people. Only they weren't your harmless jump-out-from-behind-something-and-go-boo! kind. They were far more harmful than that. But of course they had the code phrase 'Cross my heart, hope to die,' meant to be said if someone ever took the joke too far. So no one would ever take the joke too far.. right?

Overall, I found most of the characters felt quite real most of the time. Of course some parts of the book felt like filler, but I have yet to come across a book that doesn't have one single filler moment. The only characters that could have had a little more depth were the Twitter Twins and Garrett, although Garrett did grow a little throughout the story. There were also times that I wanted to reach in the book and smack Emma for not doing something I would have done. There were also some parts that didn't feel like they would play out quite like Sara Shepard wrote them. 

All in all, though, I thoroughly enjoyed this first installment of what seems like a great book series. I am eagerly awaiting the release of Never Have I Ever and will definitely buy it when it comes out. If you enjoyed Pretty Little Liars or like books with catty girls, secrets, and lies, then I'd highly recommend this book as an addition to your collection. 

I give The Lying Game a 5 out of 5.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Ida B.
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Jessica M. Ida B. is about a ten year old girl whose life is absolutely perfect,until one..."
Ida B.
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by librariane Ida B. (never call her just plain Idathats her mother) has been able to enjoy life..."