Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2089
entertaining and witty
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Jessica Puopolo

My friend told me that Boy2Girl by Terence Blacker was a great book and I was trying to decide on what book to read next, so I decided to read it and find out myself if it was really that good a book. It is about an American boy, Sam Lopez, whose mother died in an accident while his father was in jail. In her will, she wanted her sister, who lives in England, to take care of her son. When he gets there, he acts like America is so much better and cooler than England. Sam wants to join the gang that Matt, his cousin, is in. They don't really like him or want him in the gang so they come up with a plan. Sam has to pass an initiation test that none of them think he will ever do. The task he must perform is to pretend to be a girl the first week at his new school and to be believable, too. It wont be that hard for him to look the part because Sam has long blonde hair that Matt and his friends think makes him look sort of like a girl. Sam is tough and can get angry so it is hard for him to act the part, too. When things are finally going well for him, or her, twists come and he has to change. Can he do it? Will he pull it off? What will happen at school after the first week? What would happen if his dad gets out of jail? All will be answered in this book. The author wrote this book so that the story is told in small parts each told by different characters point of view, even though Sam isnt actually one of them for some reason. I thought that this book was humorous and was a good book. It didnt take me that long to finish, which means it wasnt terrible. It takes me longer to read books I dont like than books I do. If you are in the mood for a book that isnt that hard to read and is entertaining and witty, then I think this book is for you.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

One True Way
 
5.0
"In 1977, Allie and her mother move from New Jersey to the South. Grieving over the death of her brother..."
Cake Pop Crush
 
4.0
"An incredibly sweet story, in more ways than one! Alicia loves to bake, and since her family runs a bakery..."