Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 62928
It's What's on the Inside that Counts
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton is a great book about friendship and not judging people before getting to know them. I really liked this book because it seemed so realistic. Even though the author wrote it more than forty years ago, the problems in the book are problems we still face today. No matter where we go, it seems like people will always be broken into groups based on what we wear, where we come from, or what we like to do. This book taught me that all people are basically the same, no matter where we come from. We can find similarities in each other just as easily as we can find differences.


The main characters in this book struggle because all their lives they've been taught to hate other people that are not like them. They also have a problem with judging other people, even though they dont want to be judged themselves. After awhile, the characters begin to wonder what is truly right and wrong.


The Outsiders also includes a poem by Robert Frost called Nothing Gold Can Stay. I love this poem because it is about savoring each moment of life and not forgetting that things always change - sometimes for the better and sometimes not. As the characters begin to grow up and change, they experience many sad things, but the final message is about hope.


The Outsiders made me think about things that I sometimes take for granted and it taught me that everyone deserves a chance. The book was inspiring because S.E. Hinton wrote it when she was only sixteen years old. It showed me that regardless of how old we are, what we look like, or where we come from, we are all capable of so much.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 93 18

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

 
3.0
"This is an odd but strangely compelling book. If you think about the plot too hard, things fall apart and..."