Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2915
The Perfect Mixture of Serious and Silly
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Misty

Gene Luen Yang
blends three stories (that of the famous chinese Monkey god from
Journey to the West; the story of Jin Wang, an American boy born of
Chinese immigrants; and Chin-Kee, a walking stereotype) into one
humorous and thought-provoking story told in graphic novel form that
reads like a self-effacing diary. His characters are funny and
charming, and the three separate threads combine at the end to make
them something greater than the sum of their parts.

American Born Chinese
is easily a one-sitting read, though much more time may be spent poring
over the illustrations (which have a Bazooka Joe lightness to them),
which capture the moods perfectly.

Despite mild and rare cursing, this book can easily be shared with younger readers.

Yang manages to deal with serious subjects with a light hand,
respecting them without getting bogged down in didacticism or the
pointing of fingers. His writing is fun, witty and playful, and his
book charming.

Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...