Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1574
Escape from L.A. into a simpler, more natural life
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Gwyn Lee



 



In the Young Adult novel LOOKING FOR THE REAL THING, an L.A. high school
senior seeks a simpler future away from angry kids, stressed adults, monstrous
schools, everyday violence, massive traffic, bad air, junk food--seeking a
little peace, a little quiet, some connection to nature.


Quite a few teenagers feel alienated by pressure and stress from the relentless
competition pursued in the schools, on television, in the news, books, films,
radio, everywhere. Some kids are less worried about being left behind and more
worried about being run over. They are not slackers or rebels so much as
they are confused and looking for a way out.  



 



Most teenagers never go to college. Many do not want to. Many
do not want to wear suits and ties or drive two or three hours commuting every
day. That does not mean they are lazy or gang members or delinquent or
stoners. Some kids do not feel right going along with a mean system they
do not like.  Maybe they feel trapped. If such students are out there,
this book is for them.



 



As the specter of global warming looms ahead for us and our future children and
grandchildren, most people scramble for alternative energy sources to be able
to keep on doing what weve been doingonly minus the carbon.  Most modern lives seem to me driven lives.



 



But that same old same old will not work any more. The recent book BIG
COAL: THE DIRTY SECRET IN AMERICAS ENERGY FUTURE by Jeff Goodell points out
that everything from trains to computers to satellites depends on coal. We
must change our way of life. Only a total slowdown can get us off carbon and
save future generations. And slowing down is not necessarily bad.







In LOOKING FOR THE REAL THING, the teen hero knows that rush you can get
from stress, but the side effects he feels and he sees, they make him back
off and hang back and  chill out his situation. He is not with the heavy ambitions and hot desires and frustrations of so many of his
schoolmates. He wants a quiet life out of the rush, working with others who
want to make the world better. 



 



He
describes his senior year:



"I'd loved Cleo since we were kids together.
We were the real thing, destined to be soul
mates. But in high school, Cleo decided
she wanted
the good life.
She thought I was crazy, wanting to leave L.A.,
where all the money is.
I hated the choking smog, pollution, brutal schools,
gangs, killings, everybody uptight and mean
never any peace and quiet. The mountains,
desert, beachesout there in the silence, my feet on the earth
I could feel a
spiritual connection. Only Cleo vetoed our destiny
when she
got pregnant by Westside
High's top jock. Then he
restored my
faith by dumping her. I was the stepfather at the birth,
and
I thanked God because I found a
place in the country where the three of
us could start life together. Then the baby's real father showed back
up. Had God forsaken
me?"



 



LOOKING FOR THE REAL THING is published and distributed by
PublishAmerica:



<a
href="http://www.publishamerica.com/shopping/shopping/shopdisplayproducts.asp?catalogid=20383






Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love exploring the different textures in this playful...
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On the night before Christmas, all over the house, not...
Belinda Fellgate: HellCat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary teen fantasy about an inept 14-year-old girl who...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling author...
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shipped halfway around the world to spend the summer...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. ...
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lira and Reyker have lost everything. Including each other....
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eva Marteinn never wanted to be a killer. Raised...
Things That Should Stay Buried
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some destinies are written in the stars. Others must...
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy...
Horrid
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of You Must Not Miss comes...
Tsalix Silverthorn and the Scepter of Destiny
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest phenomenal work from New York Times Bestselling author...
The Adventures of Bubba Jones (#4): Time Traveling Through Grand Canyon National Park
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth book of this award-winning national park series,...
The Companion
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The other orphans say Margot is lucky. Lucky to...
Sanctuary
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 2032, and in this near-future America, all citizens...
Teen Titans: Beast Boy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Author Kami Garcia (Beautiful Creatures) and artist Gabriel Picolo,...

Latest Member Reviews

Lost in the Antarctic: The Doomed Voyage of the Endurance
 
5.0
"LOST IN THE ANTARCTIC takes you on the doomed, yet brave journey of the ship called the Endurance and its..."
History's Mysteries: Freaky Phenomena: Curious Clues, Cold Cases, and Puzzles From the Past
 
5.0
"HISTORY'S MYSTERIES: FREAKY PHENOMENA teaches about the theories, clues and details behind occurrences that seem out of this world. The..."
Max Tilt: 80 Days or Die
 
4.0
"After finding an enormous treasure with his cousin Alex, Max's family has built a big new house and is enjoying..."
The Whydah: A Pirate Ship Feared, Wrecked, and Found
 
4.0
"Sandler brings history to life through the myths and legends of the Whydah, an 18th century pirate ship which sank..."
Max Tilt: Fire the Depths
 
4.0
"Max Tilt (short for Trujillo, as his father is Dominican. His mother is African American) is having a number of..."
The Doldrums and the Helmsley Curse
 
4.3
"The Doldrums are back in this mystery and intrigue-laden Middle Grade continuation. Though it’s definitely a sequel, the story has..."
Death on the River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt's Amazon Adventure
 
4.0
"We all have this vague idea that Teddy Roosevelt was an adventurer, but I had no idea the depth of..."
Mission Mumbai: A Novel of Sacred Cows, Snakes, and Stolen Toilets
 
5.0
"MISSION MUMBAI by Mahtab Narsimhan is an unexpected and powerful addition to middle grade novels. The story of two boys,..."
LEGO Planets: A LEGO Adventure In The Real World
 
4.0
"In this informative introductory guide, LEGO borrows heavily from NASA images and taps a comic-style to walk kids through our..."
Every Hidden Thing
 
5.0
"I had such fun reading this book. My oldest son turned me into a dinosaur nerd when he was around..."
Every Hidden Thing
 
5.0
"If there's one historical YA book about romance, travel, and adventure to read in 2016, it's this one. Every Hidden..."
The Doldrums
 
4.3
"An enchantingly quirky jaunt of a story—ideal for fans of Roald Dahl or Lemony Snicket. The Doldrums is a..."
Maps Activity Book
 
5.0
"The MAPS ACTIVITY BOOK from Big Picture Press is a delightful drawing, learning, and coloring book designed to teach kids..."
Byrd and Igloo: A Polar Adventure
 
4.0
"Told from the perspective of the companion of explorer Richard Byrd, a little stray named Igloo, this book outlines some..."