Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3339
Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

Ever since I heard Shiver will debut at number nine on the New York Times bestsellers list, Ive had reviewers block. Yes, it is an unsavory cousin of writers block, but worse somehow. Because Maggie Stiefvater has written a beautiful, touching, amazing book, and I feel less than worthy to sum it all up a few paragraphs, much less in a neat little reviewers package.

But Ill try. 

Shiver has two first-person narrators, Sam and Grace. Grace watches the wolves in the woods behind her house every winter. She has a favorite, a yellow-eyed wolf. He watches back. 

Sam lives two lives; during the winter hes a wolf, while he spends his summers as a human. And hes been in love with Grace for quite a while. 

Maggie Stiefvater wastes no time in throwing her reader into the deep end of Sam and Graces complicated relationship. We know the obstacle that has to be overcome almost immediately. We feel the insurmountable pressure of how will they ever overcome this problem. Yet the reader doesnt feel shorted by knowing too much too soon - more grateful that we have the freedom to sink into the life and depth and emotion that Maggie magically infuses into every page, every paragraph, every sentence. 

Her sensory images seduce you into the story. Set aside some time. Shiver is one of those rare works of art youd continue reading if your house were burning down around your ears, because if its not happening on the page, its not happening in real life. Its a book youll carry around emotionally for weeks after youre done reading. Two visuals come to mind that will always haunt me. One of a mother who seems to be more proud of the paint smears on her arms that identify her as an artist than she is of her daughter. The other, frozen tear tracks on a childs face, and a parent finally choosing to be a parent. 

Youll fall head-over-heels in love with these characters. And then youll wish they were real so you could have them over for dinner. 

Especially Sam. 

People will compare Shiver to other wildly popular books in this genre. I think if that makes people read Shiver, great. But if you are one who doesnt care for other wildly popular books in this genre, you should still read Shiver

Grace and Sam have so much depth, so many levels, and luckily, so much more to say. (Insert plug and plea for advance reader copies for books two and three here.) A caution, Shiver does involve (closed door) werewolf nookie. 

Most highest of high recommendations. 



Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 6 1

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

The Row
 
4.3
"This book is one of the books I've been looking forward to reading. Even since I read the book description..."
Insomnia (The Night Walkers #1)
 
3.7
"MY THOUGHTS Every night Parker has other people's dreams and it's slowly killing him. It has been years since he's..."
Insomnia (The Night Walkers #1)
 
4.0
"A chilling thriller about a boy who enters the dreams of the last person he made eye contact with and..."
Insomnia (The Night Walkers #1)
 
3.0
"Insomnia started out with my full attention; Parker’s ability to visit people in their dreams and the toll it was..."
Insomnia (The Night Walkers #1)
 
4.0
"Ooh, INSOMNIA was one of those books that pulled me right in. I love the premise of a teen..."
Insomnia (The Night Walkers #1)
 
4.0
" Insomnia brings something new and original to the table, and it is an addicting read. I didn't..."